Skip to content

How to create your Author “Pit Crew” Part 4: Social Media Manager #Author #TipsandTricks

by on August 16, 2017

Most people think of authors as solitary creatures who hide out in a dimly lit office pecking away at their keyboard and tearing their hair out in fat chunks while they slave over their newest book.

Okay, so that’s a fairly accurate description, but in my world, the office is replaced by my living room, and instead of pulling out my hair—I chew my fingernails. However, I don’t do it alone.

No, I have a whole TEAM of people who help me get my books released. For the next couple of weeks I’m going to break down what to look for in your “Pit Crew” and how to find them.

Back up and read

Part 1: Beta Readers http://wp.me/p2vGi2-1×1  

Part 2: Editors goo.gl/umHiJt 

Part 3: Author’s Assistant https://goo.gl/r1KZzU

 

 

Social Media Manager

dreamstime_m_58227934

 

Let’s face it, the world is ruled by social media these days. One post can make or break a career by going viral. I’ve seen it happen many times. There are even sites devoted to exposing the people who are mucking it up. You do NOT want to be one of those people.

There are a couple of ways you can avoid it. The first, is to talk books and books only on your social media. That means nothing personal. No politics, no family, no religions, no issues, no support, nothing. That will make for a very bland page, and little to no reader interaction, but for some it’s the way to go.

The second, and in my opinion, best way to go is by managing your social media as if you were in a job interview. People are always finding you, which means there are a million moments where you’ve given someone a first impression. You want it to be a good one. I still stick to some guidelines from above. I do NOT talk politics or religions. Period. Readers don’t want to know my opinion on immigration or pharmaceutical companies. They want to know what I’m working on next, and how soon they can get their hands on it.

I’ve also found, that most social media requires a regular presence in exchange for visibility. Meaning if you’re not posting on Twitter, people don’t even know you’re there. Of course, that doesn’t mean you can just stop your life and spend the rest of your days scrolling the Twitter feeds, although it does make for an entertaining show on occasion. I believe that bringing on a Social Media Manager is becoming more and more important.

A Social Media Manager is a person who maintains your presence for you. That doesn’t mean they log in and chat with readers as if they ARE you, it means they make sure something is posted daily (or multiple times a day) on your pages so that you pop up in the readers feeds and they don’t forget you.

I’m a fan of using Hootsuite for prescheduling Twitter and Facebook, but they don’t have very good compatibility with Instagram yet. There are other services out there that allow for prescheduling, and you want the person you consider for this job to already have knowledge of how to do this if possible. It comes down to working smarter, not harder. I can spend two hours a day, hitting every social media site and posting the same post each place, and THEN another two hours chatting with readers, OR, I can have my PA set the promotional posts ahead of time, and I can just go do the chatting. That’s TWO extra hours in the day I can be writing (or playing Candy Crush) and that’s exactly what we all want.

I hope this post helps you on your journey to build your author brand!

Good luck and look for Part 5: Graphic’s Artist soon!

 

 

From → Blog Roll

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. No Wasted Ink Writer’s Links | No Wasted Ink

Comments are closed.

