Skip to content

Dust on the Bottle, RT, Graduation, and a Sleep Study

by on April 24, 2017

Wow, yeah, that’s a lot to cover in one blog post, but I’ll try to get it all in. So first, May is bringing a lot of chaos into my life. Next Tuesday (May 2) I leave for Atlanta and RT Booklovers Convention!

I’ll be cohosting an event on Thursday called First Base With An Author where you can stock up on freebies, and meet dozens of authors!

Then I’ll be signing books at the Giant Book Fair on Saturday! I’ll have Crawley Creek Volume 1, Weekend Surrender, and the Fetish & Fantasy Box Set there for purchase and signing. It’s only $10 to come to the signing, so if you live close by, come and see me!

Then, I’ll be signing at the RT Roundup on Sunday, and I’ll have LOTS more titles and swag available! If you’re hoping to get several books, stop by then and see me, I’ll hook you up. *wink*

As a special event for my readers, I’m hosting a dinner on Friday evening at a local Atlanta restaurant. (Place still to be determined). If you’d like an invite to the dinner, please PM me on Facebook, because I’m bringing goodies and want to have enough!

As always, I’ll be available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just a sit down and chat all week! I don’t leave until Monday the 8th, so search me out and tell me you wanna hang!

RT altanta


Graduation & Sleep Study…

My middle son is graduating out of junior high into high-school, so I get to plan a party to celebrate. His older brother wanted the party because he wanted EVERYONE to know he was going into high-school, but J is a lot more reserved. He just wants the party for the $ that will come in the cards. LOL

I also found out the doc is sending me for a sleep study (FINALLY!) to figure out why I have insomnia. Hopefully this will result in improving my sleep and my overall health, but it might mean you’ll see me online at 2am less often!


Dust on the Bottle

Last, I wanted to share a snippet from Dust on the Bottle, which has an OFFICIAL release day of May 23rd, and a new cover! dust2

“Hey Monica, what are you doing out here?” Drannon asked when he spotted her.

“Waiting for the sunrise. I couldn’t sleep.” She answered.

Drannon nodded, “There’s not a more beautiful sight than the sun rising over the ranch. Except for my beautiful wife of course.”

Monica laughed, ‘Of course. Looks like everyone had a good time tonight.”

“Yeah, it was great. I don’t imagine much will get done around here today, but at least Hawke had a memorable night.”

“I’m not so sure about that.” Kyler’s voice came from the door, “I just left him on the sofa in the living room because his feet stopped working before we made it to the stairs. As drunk as he is, he won’t remember much.”

“You’d be surprised.” Drannon said, “Even alcohol can’t cover up some memories.”

With that Drannon entered the house wishing them both a good night, and Kyler headed her way.

“I didn’t expect to find you still awake.” He reached for her, lifting her up so that he could take her seat, and settling her on his lap. Memories of nights spent in his lap watching movies, and playfully eating breakfast in the morning perched on him, flooded her brain as he hugged her tight. “You feel good.”

“So do you. You’re warm.” She pulled the blanket a little tighter around her, and tucked her head into the crook of his neck. “Do you remember that weekend you were sick and we had to cancel our double date with Marcus and Violet?”

He chuckled, “I remember. I felt god awful, and I was grumpy as a wounded bear, but you stuck it out and never once punched me.”

“You weren’t that bad.” She giggled, “Okay, you were a bit whiney, but you had the flu. Everyone’s whiney when they have the flu. That was the only time I ever felt like I was being strong for both of us.”

“Good, I don’t want my woman to have to be strong for me.”

Monica lifted her head to glare at him, “First of all, I’m stronger than most men I know, and second, I liked being able to take care of you for a change.”

“You don’t have to tell me how strong you are. I’ve seen you in action. I was there when they buried your Gran, remember?”

The reminder was a shot to the heart, and she felt her eyes burn with unshed tears. “A lot happened in a short amount of time that year.”

He nodded, and pressed her head back to his shoulder. “But we got through it. Together…”

His words hung on the air, heavy with accusation. They’d been inseparable until she freaked out and ran. She’d really hurt him.

“Ky, I’m sorry.” She whispered the words, and for just a moment she wondered if he’d even heard her. Every muscle in her body was taut until he brushed her bangs from her forehead and kissed her gently.

“I’ve missed you, Monica. More than you know.” He murmured. His words echoing in her ears on the quiet night.

“I missed you, too.”

It seemed to be enough, and she was relieved when he didn’t push for more from her. Together they sat in the rocking chair and watched the first rays of pink appear on the horizon. The new day dawned clear, and birds chirped cheerfully around them. Monica felt as though in that one moment her entire world was at peace. When was the last time she’d felt that?

Startled by her own inner revelation that Kyler brought her the sense of peace she’d been chasing, she shifted in his arms, and quickly realized he’d fallen asleep.

Tipping her head back, she stared at him, her eyes traveling over him even though every bit was already permanently etched into her brain. He had a strong nose that turned up slightly at the tip, and high cheekbones that any model would give her right arm to have. His lashes were long and full where they formed crescents in his sleep. It was his mouth that drew her though. He had lush full lips that could be both soft as satin and hard as stone. He used them to bring pleasure to them both, and yet, they’d caused her anguish once or twice too. Could she stand to hear him ask her to stay? They both knew he would. Fate had brought them back together because things were unresolved between them, of that she was sure. She just wasn’t sure what the outcome would be. She couldn’t stay at Crawley Creek. In fact, she had a flight booked to leave for Texas in two days. Her next job involved visiting an old friend, and she was kind of hoping the distance would give her some perspective on all of this.

Carefully she eased out of his lap, and pressed a soft kiss to Kyler’s forehead before she draped her blanket over him, and left him sleeping on the porch.

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. Crystal permalink

    How sweet i cant wait to read this

Tell me what you think...

