Skip to content

November’s Picture Capture features a HOT new photo!

by on November 30, 2014

Capturing the moment is every author’s goal. We want to express emotions so clearly that the reader’s impacted when they put the book down. So I’ve brought you a collection of authors who are all using the exact same photograph as inspiration for a short scene. They are capturing the picture with their words. These short scenes are NOT part of a book…yet, but they will give you great insight into the authors head!

As always you’re welcome to give it a go and post your story scene in the comments, in fact, I encourage you to try it! Here’s how to do it…

2014 - 11 November

Use the prompt to write a 350 word scene.

No limitations.

No restrictions.

Let your imagination go wild.

Alongside every entry, is the authors contact links, and most recent book cover.

If you like what they did, please leave a comment or even better, buy a book!

So, here is what the authors came up with this month….

 

Amy J Hawthorn Amy J Hawthorn

Links: Website   Facebook   Twitter

The rumble of the propellers vibrated through the ancient hulk of a plane. Mike didn’t care. As long as the relic got Renee out of the hot zone safely he couldn’t care less.

He looked into her bottomless bown eyes and cupped her nape.

Jesus, he couldn’t believe he’d nearly lost her. She could’ve died in that hellhole and he never would’ve known. No one would have and the bright light of her smile would have been gone forever.

Had it been luck or fate that had put a single witness in place? Or could it have been something more?

There’d be time to sort that out later. And he’d get to the bottom of her disappearance if it was the last thing he ever did.

Now?

Now he needed to touch her and reassure himself that she was real. He needed to feel the satin of her skin and hear the sweet sound of her sighs.

“Never again. Do you hear me? I don’t care if you think I’m an overbearing caveman. You’ll never again travel abroad without me.” If he had his say, she’d never again leave her home without him by her side but she’d give him hell if he dared say that out loud. He’d just keep that tucked tight to his chest for now.

“All right. Does that mean that you’re going into caveman protective mode as my bodyguard or something more?” Her shaky, sultry voice washed over him.

“You have to ask? I’m both and I intend to be your everything, the same as you’ve become my entire world. Callie, you’re the reason I breathe.” “Okay.” The simple shaky word undid him.

He set his mouth to her in a blistering kiss and tumbled her to the floor. He hated that she’d have to be uncomfortable in such a sad vehicle, but if it got her out of the war-torn, godforsaken country in one piece, it would be worth it.

He sank into the soft heat of her kiss and showed her with his body what words would never be able to explain.

 ***

Michelle Roth Michelle Roth

Links:  Facebook   Twitter   Blog

Maggie looked back and forth between Brent and Grayson’s profiles. The tension was so palpable that the cockpit almost vibrated from it. Though they had saved her from Mendez, she realized that they weren’t out of trouble quite yet.

Gingerly, she placed a hand on his shoulder and asked, “Grayson. What’s wrong?”

She saw Brent flick a glance back at her, and then at Grayson, as if he wasn’t sure he should speak. When Grayson gave him a nod, he finally spoke.

“Maggie. Mendez shot one of the fuel tanks. We’re lucky the whole plane didn’t blow. We don’t have enough fuel to make it to the rendezvous. I’m trying to get Lou on the radio now, but something seems to be jamming the signal. If I don’t find a place to set the plane down soon…”

She choked on the words as she asked, “How much time do we have?”

“A half hour. Forty five minutes, tops.”

“I’m so sorry,” she said, her voice shaking.

“Don’t you get it? We would have gone to the ends of the fucking earth to find you. You’ve got nothing to be sorry about.”

When Grayson turned, he must have seen the look on her face, because he said, “Maggie. Baby.” He got out of his chair, scooped her up as if she were a child and moved them out of the cockpit. Sitting against the cargo hold wall, he sat her his lap.

She curled into him, took a deep breath and then said, “If you need to be up front..”

“What I need is to be here with you,” Gray murmured against her hair. “I’ve missed you.”

“I need you,” Maggie said almost desperately. “I don’t want my last memories to be of Mendez’s hands on me.”

“Are you sure,” he asked, his voice gravelly with want.

In answer she turned her face up and pressed her mouth to his. She savored the feel of his lips against hers as he laid her back on the cargo hold floor. She enjoyed the weight of him as he stretched out beside her.

***

Kalissa Wayne Kalissa Wayne

Links:  Facebook    Amazon

She couldn’t believe she had agreed to see him again. He’d lied to her. No matter what they had survived together, he’d lied. Admittedly, a lie by omission, but still. She watched as the limo passed through trees that looked ancient and fields with horses grazing and colts running and playing in them. The limo continued past the mansion and over the rise into the lake valley. Near the edge of the water lay the fuselage of the wrecked jet. Sammi jumped from the limo and stood at the broken end of the jet.

Inside, Jonathon stood waiting for her with the lace throw they had salvaged. “Thanks for coming Samantha. I wasn’t sure you would.” Sammi heard the limo drive away. “Please hear me out. When we were rescued, I tried to tell you but they took us to the hospital. I tried to find you, but the press descended and it was too late.”

“Too late? You should’ve told me in the two months we were marooned.” Sammi turned to go, but Jonathon grabbed her.

“I wanted you, Samantha. You didn’t know who I was and you seemed attracted to me. For once, I didn’t have to worry about if you were a corporate spy, a gold digger or someone my mother was trying to force me into a relationship with. I could be myself and love you, knowing you were honest and open.” Jonathon stroked the back of his fingers along her cheek before gripping her jaw. “Tell me you don’t love me and I’ll leave you alone. I’ll call for the limo and you can go on your way.”

Sammi looked around the empty fuselage then up into his eyes. “Why? Why all this?”

“Because this is where you loved me. If it takes giving up my empire, I will. Just tell me you love me.”

“I love you.” Sammi barely got the words out before he was kissing her. So lost in their shared emotions, she didn’t realize when he lowered her to that precious blanket…

***

Jade BelfreyJade Belfrey

Links:  Website    Facebook     Amazon

“You’re enjoying this, aren’t you?”

“I have no idea what you mean.” He said, grinning.

Sara struggled against the hand cuffs. Now that the immediate fear of dying was over, she was aware of just how uncomfortable the binds were.

Instead of coming to her aide, Mark picked up the fur coat she had “borrowed” from the Ambassador’s wife as her disguise. As he spreading it on the floor of the cargo plane, the glint in his eye revealed exactly what was on his mind. His reputation was legendary.

“I can’t believe that we barely survived a plane crash and now you want to get laid.”

“I landed this plane perfectly fine.” Mark knelt on the fur and frowned. “It was the kidnappers that we barely survived.”

Could it be that the country’s most decorated special agent, mythos second only to James Bond’s, had been actually scared for his life? The admission humanized him. She was one of the only people who saw this side of him.

He moved her onto the fur. At the moment he was more interested in the side of her that was a woman and not an agent.

“We escaped because I distracted them.” She blurted, nervously.

Mark nodded. “That was fast thinking flashing him your breasts. Now are we going to sit here rehashing the assignment, or are we going to burn off the rest of our adrenalin?”

“But the recon team will be here any minute.” She wanted him, but not here and not this way.

“I won’t be put off any longer, Sara.”

“Put off?”

“I suffered through a long year of buns and short skirts. Then you tortured me with your Kevlar vests and holsters.”

“I didn’t think you saw me.”

“Since we met I’ve seen nothing but you every time I closed my eyes.” He reinforced the sincerity of his words by closing his eyes now as he bent down for a kiss.

Sara couldn’t help herself. She closed her eyes too. She desperately needed to feel his lips on hers, even if it was for this one time only.

 

***

Thank you so much to all of the authors who participated! I hope you’ll encourage us by letting us know if you would like us to continue our specific stories. Just leave a comment for us in the comment section. We’ll be back December 31st with another one!

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance! ~ Lori

2 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on http://www.michelleroth.net and commented:
    Totally missed out on this because I was on the road, but check out the November Picture Capture. These are fantastic!!

  2. Lisa C permalink

    As always ladies, a wonderful month!!!

Tell me what you think...

