Skip to content

In the Spotlight: Sarah Leyton – Brand New Author!

by on February 8, 2014

In the Spotlight: Sarah Leyton

www.SarahLeyton.com

New Release: Sharing Annabelle

http://www.bookstrand.com/sharing-annabelle

Sarah Leyton

Annabelle Rawlings has fallen for not one but two men. When Callum McCray and Mason Webb set their sights on Annabelle, they refuse to give up until they’ve made her realize that she belongs to them—no matter how many times she tries to deny it. They know she has dark, kinky desires that only they can satisfy.

When the guys are forced to deny their love, and hers, and push Annabelle away because of a deadly threat from their past, they doubt whether they’ll ever be able to win her back again.

The Biz:

How many books do you currently have published?

Sharing Annabelle is actually my first book. I find it exciting and terrifying in equal measure. It’s a little nerve wracking to put something you worked really hard on out there for the world to read and comment on.

What book are you writing right now?

I have two books in the works right now. One is a sequel to Sharing Annabelle and the other follows a totally different storyline and set of characters. They are slow going, but I hope to have them finished by summer, so keep an eye out for them!

What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Starting. I will literally sit at my computer and stare at the screen for forever and not write a freakin’ thing. Once I get started I’ll get on a roll and I might crank out 10,000 words, but that first stupid paragraph might take me an hour.

Advice for aspiring and new writers?

Don’t force your dialogue. I was an editor for a lot of years and one of the things that I saw and continue to see in a lot of books these days (especially self-published) is dialogue that would never happen in real life. I get that in romance/erotica there is a reputation for cheesy, but come on. I recommend reading your dialogue out loud or having someone else read it to you. If it sounds forced or weird, it is. Don’t make your characters say stuff that just isn’t natural.

Who did you dedicate your first book to?

I dedicated my first book to three friends of mine who bet me that I couldn’t finish it. They whole story’s on my website, but the jist of it is that I’m super competitive and my friends know that about me. When they saw the draft of my book they saw something special in it and used my nature against me. It was the best thing they could have done for me.

The Random:

How would your spouse or best friend describe you in three words?

I can tell you this with absolute certainty as I asked my best friend this question: intellectual, witty, devoted.

What was the last movie you went to see?

I went with a friend to a prescreening of the new Zach Efron movie, “That Awkward Moment.” It was hilarious and fantastic. I’ve decided that Miles Teller is the male version of me and is therefore my spirit animal. I definitely recommend it.

What is your favorite quote ever?

            “Memories are forever.” Lois Lowry, The Giver

This is my favorite book ever! Great choice Sarah!

If you could be a superhero, what would you want your super powers to be?

I’d like to totally cheat on this question and have a magic ability rather than a super power. You know the carpet bag from which Mary Poppins could pull anything? I want my pocket to do the same thing. I want to be able to reach in my pocket and pull out anything I might need.

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now?

Guilty pleasure admission – The soundtrack from Frozen. I can’t get those songs out of my head. They’re freakin’ catchy.

Favorite place to curl up with a good book?

I have an oversized, overstuff chair in my living room that just pulls me in. I love to hang there with a cup of coffee and a story.

The Good Stuff:

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be?

A man, obviously. Oh! Perhaps you mean an accoutrement…in that case I’ll go with a bullet vibrator. Girls, if you don’t have one of those, you should get one. A little tip from me to you.

What feature on the opposite sex attracts you the most?

Muscles. If the guy has large biceps but also doesn’t skip leg day then he is the man for me.

What would pick as the sexiest scene from a book? (Doesn’t have to be your own, but it can be)

Pick any scene from a book by Maya Banks. That woman definitely knows how to write the sexiness.

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy?

Definitely Tall, Dark and Handsome.

What actor/actress would you be willing to run away from your life for?

Dwayne Johnson. Remember how I said I have a thing for muscles? Also, that guy has a heart of gold and perfect skin the color of a latte. Yeah, I’d run away from my life for the Rock.

If you had a warning label, what would it say?

Will speak before thinking.

 

Excerpt

She was ready to enjoy the heck out of that strawberry and she focused her full attention on the delicacy.

Lifting the succulent treat to her lips, she took a small bite. The rich, smooth chocolate melted in her mouth and there was just a hit of the sweet fruit underneath. The taste was heady. Practically orgasmic.

The sensation running through her body was extraordinary. It was like the chocolate was giving her an appetite for something that didn’t have anything to do with food and everything to do with passion. She closed her eyes and took another bite of the strawberry.

Annabelle closed her eyes and moaned as the decadent flavors filled her mouth. She felt the juices begin to leak from the fruit so she slowly licked them up, savoring their taste on her tongue.

“How much do you want to be that strawberry right now, Mase?” A male voice from somewhere beside here interrupted her reverie.

“More than I want coffee, that’s for damn sure.” Another male interjected and Annabelle opened her eyes, knowing exactly who those deep voices belonged to.

Cal and Mason. Could she never escape those two? Everywhere she went, there they were. At the deli where she ate lunch, at the bookstore, at the market. It was happening way too often for it to be coincidence.

Her chocolate-covered wonderland had engrossed her so fully that she hadn’t heard the shop door open. She had to admit, at least to herself, that she was pretty much mortified to be caught by them while practically making out with a strawberry.

Despite the dark blush she knew was staining her cheeks and the way her nipples had gotten rock hard at the sounds of their voices, she turned to face the two hunks of bedrooms past.

Unfortunately for her libido, they looked as gorgeous as ever, or even more gorgeous. Cal was wearing a perfectly tailored pinstripe suit with a crisp white shirt and a red power tie while Mason was a lot more casually dressed. Not that his dark jeans and striped cotton button-up shirt made him look any less lickable.

Their hair was a little bit windblown, which meant that they’d probably walked the two and a half blocks to the shop. A new burst of desire settled low in her belly as she stared at them and began to picture licking and sucking other things that could be covered in chocolate. Long, hard, delicious things.

“I would say penny for your thoughts, but since I can pretty much guarantee they’re dirty I’d be willing to pay a whole lot more,” Cal said, and when she glanced up guiltily she could see the hunger written across his face.

Mason shifted closer and pulled out a chair to sit close to her right side, invading her personal bubble. Cal took that as his cue to do the same thing on her left.

“Better watch out, Belle. You’re about to drip,” Mason said seductively in his deep, Scottish baritone before bending his head to lick some strawberry juice from her hand.

Something was dripping all right, and it wasn’t the strawberry in her hand. She had a veritable leaking faucet between her legs thanks to these two sexy beasts.

She glanced to Cal when she felt his hand on her knee and saw a rakish smile on his lips. It caused that adorable dimple to crease his cheek. “I want a taste, too, Belle.”

Snap out of it, stupid! They are not for you. Not for you.

Maybe if she repeated it to herself enough it she could convince herself. Cloaking herself in a false sense of bravado and drawing on every Bette Davis–esque ounce of gumption she had, she snapped her spine straight and wiped the dreamy look of her face.

“Go right ahead,” she said, looking Cal in the eyes while waving toward the counter. “There are plenty over there to choose from.”

Mason’s hand came up and he caressed her lower lip with the tip of his finger. It created a tingle that didn’t just affect her lip. She had to restrain herself from nipping that digit with her teeth and sucking it into her mouth.

“He’s not talking about the berries, love.”

There was no doubt in her mind that they both wanted her. They wanted to ravish her again and Mason’s simple touch had electrified her. The temptation was like a pressing weight on her abdomen. She could feel the sexual tension simmering between the three of them and she wanted to give in, so much that her lips parted and she leaned toward Mason just slightly. Damn, his lips look good.

“How long are you going to keep running, Belle? You can’t keep denying the attraction between us. We all know that you are the perfect fit for us. When are you going to let us prove it to you?” Annabelle shivered at the feeling of Cal’s warm breath as he whispered his seductive words into her ear.

His soft words coupled with Mason’s teasing caresses lulled her, mesmerized her, and the urge to say now was an overpowering temptation. She could just picture being in their arms again. Being taken by the two of them had been the most hedonistic delight she had ever partaken of. She had come so hard and so much that her whole body had been deliciously sore for a week afterward.

Boom!

The thunder blasted outside moments before rain began to soak the ground and splatter against the windows of the small coffee shop.

Annabelle quickly scooted her chair back and stood up out of their reach. She desperately tried to shake off the spell of desire that they had been waving around her.

“Nice try, fellas. Look, I don’t know why you’re trying so hard. We all know that I’m not the right girl for you. I don’t do flings and you don’t want me for the long term. We all just need to face things like adults and walk away. In fact, I know someone who would be perfect for you. I’ll text you her contact info, okay?”

Did she even breathe through that? She quickly gathered up her coat and purse and dashed out of the shop into the rain without looking back.

She got halfway down the block before she realized that she hadn’t gotten her coffee.

Puddles and no coffee. Damn them.

Find Sarah @

www.SarahLeyton.com 

http://twitter.com/leytonsarah

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. Sarah, I love your choice of superpower. I would never have thought of that.

Comments are closed.

