Skip to content

Where does the time go? Goodbye 2013…

by on December 31, 2013

232719097089e1af73f570b78062a28b

It’s hard to believe that another year is ending already. As a kid I heard my parents talk about how time slips by faster every year, but until I was grown and had children of my own I didn’t understand what they were talking about.

2013 was a good year for me and my family. In May I left my career as a banker and took on being an author full time.  I’ll admit those first few days were scary, but it turned out to be one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself and for my kids. Spending the summer with them and making memories that I will have forever was well worth the budgeting headaches and stressing over when to write.

I also attended my first book conference ever. Romantic Times 2013 was held in Kansas City this year and I had SOOOO much fun with my roommates Tara Clegg, Mia Ashlinn and Tina Dowds. I met some of my favorite authors and idols and I was able to experience the excitement and rush that is a book conference. I’ll be at the Wild Wicked Weekend in February 2014 as well as in Vegas for the JK Publishing event in March 2014. We’ll see how the rest of the year shapes up.

Obviously my change in careers was a big event for my family, but we also had a few others. We moved into a new house in February, and it’s smaller than the space we were in, so it’s been interesting adjusting to smaller quarters. Thankfully it has worked out wonderfully. My youngest son started preschool this year, while my oldest started middle school. Their first day of school was really tough on mom, but I survived. It’s amazing to see them all growing and changing…now if I could just get them to change the sheets on their bed???

In the world of Lori King Books…

January: Rafe and Ryley Whetstone finally found their happy ending with Shandi Martin in Legacy of the Wolf and started a journey to finding the family they have longed for.

April:  I introduced Sidney Rowe and the three Dawson brothers in Sidney’s Triple Shot. That book was both therapy and joy for me, and I thank the readers for making it such a success.

August: KJ Whetstone reached out to the brothers she had never known for help, and ended up with two mates of her own in Thomas Jameson and Bryson Samuels: Dreams of the Wolf.

September: I was lucky enough to join up with four other AMAZINGLY talented authors: Laurie Roma, Susan Hayes, Erika Reed, and Hennessee Andrews for the Sunset Point series. My book Point of Seduction kicked the week long release event off and readers enjoyed watching Austin, Michael and Kendrick find a place to call home and a woman to love.

September: This was a big month for me! I had my first release with JK Publishing and The Surrender Trilogy was born with Weekend Surrender. The four Brooks brothers and their love Rachel Morgan made for one HAWT read and introduced me to the small town of Stone River, Texas.

December: The second book of The Surrender Trilogy, Flawless Surrender JUST released and thanks to readers it has been wonderfully successful. I know I fell in love with the Keegan men, and I’m glad to see so many others fall for them too.

As you can see I had a GREAT year in 2013. There were a few low points, but I prefer to focus on the positive ones, and look forward to an even better year in 2014. Right now I have the final book in The Surrender Trilogy, Primal Surrender on my desktop as I type. In the works I have 7 more books planed for The Gray Pack, 4 more books planned for Apache Crossing, and dozens of new projects just screaming at me to finish them.

I owe all of my loyal readers, Brats, and friends a huge THANK YOU!

It’s because of you guys that I am able to live out my dream every single day, and I plan to push myself hard in 2014 to give you as many books as possible.

Goodbye 2013! Hello 2014!

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!

~Lori

From → Blog Roll

2 Comments
  1. Lisa Mancl permalink

    Thank-you for your commitment to write for us! Leaving a job to take on this career I am sure was overwhelming and I am grateful that you took that step since I love what you write. Looking forward to 2014 with your books. Happy New Year!

Tell me what you think...

