Skip to content

How to Write a Book Review

by on October 6, 2013

I recently had a conversation with my “Brats” about how to write a book review. Some said they feel out of their element trying to express themselves ina  review, so I wanted to just post something that I found that I think sums it up. Write A Review

It’s really that simple. I promise. I know that some authors say they don’t read their reviews because they won’t change their writing style no matter what the criticism is, but I disagree with that stance. There is NO perfect author, nor is there a perfect book. There are books that I love to pieces and books I’ve never been able to finish. No matter what the subject or who the author, every single book touches readers differently. Some will love it, while others will hate it with a mad passion. Either way, most authors want to know what their readers thought. So keep it simple and follow these three steps. Every review helps the author, whether that’s in learning something  new, or in selling another book. Take a moment to write a review or leave a rating. We appreciate it.

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

3 Comments
  1. Diana Merritt permalink

    I try really hard to leave reviews since I know how important they are. I also try and follow you guidelines except I never say anything about what I don’t like.

  2. I think this is great advice. So many review writers feel like their reviews are horrible, don’t express what they feel, sound repetitive, or think it doesn’t even matter whether they write a review or not. I think it is important to remember that some authors really want to know what you thought of their book and even two or three sentences answering the above questions can tell an author so much. Thank you for sharing this!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Kathie’s Corner: Reviews - How to Write One - Write Divas | Write Divas

Tell me what you think...

