Skip to content

Girls Night At the Gray Pack Den

by on August 9, 2013

I was invited to visit my favorite werewolves, The Gray Pack, and have a girls night. Take a look…

Pulling up to the oversized Alpha’s cabin always takes my breath away. The front of the building is two stories worth of clear glass windows that reflect the forest around it. Today it is immersed in a hazy soft summer rain, and looks empty. By the time I’ve managed to jump puddles to the front door, a very pregnant Caroline and her best friend Tina are standing just inside laughing at me.

“Are you two going to just stand there, or do I do I get to come in and dry off?”

“I think I would prefer to watch you run through the puddles again, that was the most entertainment we’ve had all day. You know you have the vertical leap of a credit card, right?” Tina’s words might sound snarky to the wrong person, but I know what a softie she is on the inside, so I ignore her, and accept the towel Caroline is handing me.

“I’m glad you made it, Lori. I was beginning to wonder about you.” Caroline Gray is one of the most beautiful women I’ve ever met. She’s petite with long mahogany colored hair that falls in ripples down her back and beautiful laughing brown eyes. With her rounded pregnant tummy she looks more raiant than ever, and I can’t resist inhaling her lilac scent deeply as she hugs me.

“I’m sorry I’m late, Mr. King was in the garden and the kids were running amok. I had to calm everyone down before I could leave.”

Caroline smiles wistfully, “I can’t wait until my own little ones are running wild.”

That brings on a round of laughter from me as Tina responds, “I can’t wait to see Devin and Damon chasing after them. Or for that matter Devin changing a diaper would be a sight.”

“Well I think they will be great Dads. Just the other day Damon built a playset in the back yard.”

Tina and I both gawk at Caroline. “Ummm…I know you’re a new mom and all Caroline, but you do realize that it will be years before the twins can use it right?”

She rolls her eyes, “Yes, I know, but he was so excited about it. It’s easier sometimes to just  nod and smile with those men. Besides, it’s getting closer every day.”

“Good, because I’m not sure how much longer I can tolerate all of this pregnant lovey dovey crap between you and the Gray boys, Caro.” Tina says from the sofa.

“Lovey-dovey crap?”

“T says I’ve been ridiculously affectionate with the guys ever since I got pregnant. I just ignore her, because I know her time is coming. Liam wants kids.” Caroline and I exchange a grin, but Tina’s face looks a little pale.

I can’t resist twisting the knife a little. “Any talk of kids on the horizon Tina?”

“Fuck. We’re just now talking about picking a date for the wedding. I’m not rushing it. Do you know what being pregnant does to a woman?” Tina asked. Her brown eyes are full of fear and apprehension, and she has curled her tall lithe ballerina body into a tight ball of nerves in the middle of the sofa.

“Ummm, yeah, three kids here missy. I think I know exactly what pregnancy does.” I can’t help laughing, “Don’t freak out Tina, it will happen the way it’s supposed to. For now just enjoy teasing Caroline about it, and focus on getting the clinic set up.”

That seems to brighten her mood, and she smiles back, “Yeah, Tommy and the crew will be back from Quiver Creek any day now.”

“Yes they will. When will the Diego Pack be heading back to Chicago?”

Caroline and Tina exchange looks, “We were hoping you would tell us. I know you’re writing Whitney’s story now, and clearly is involves them, so…”

“Oh no you don’t, girls. No secrets will be divulged yet from that story.” I have to laugh at their disappointed expressions, but Whitney’s story is still in the works, so sharing the things I know might alter the end, and that’s not fair to Whitney and her mates.

“Alright, but if you feel the need for a brainstorming session you know where to find us. Caro and I just love matchmaking other people now that we’re both sunk in syrupy sweet love stories of our own.”

I gawk at Tina with wide eyes, “Are you joking? Syrupy sweet? Your story was anything but syrupy sweet Tina! In fact, I would call it more like vinegary sour meets rough graham crackers and mushes into madness.”

Another round of laughter is followed by sweet tea and my favorite chocolate éclairs that Victoria Henley makes, before the three of us settle in for a girl talk. I love these two characters, and I enjoy getting to visit them every now and then. Lately I’ve spent so much time with KJ and Thomas in Wyoming that I’ve missed Missouri and my Gray wolves. Have you been missing them?

lk-tgp-dreamsofthewolfMiss them no more! Dreams of the Wolf is available for preorder at Siren now: http://bookstrand.com/lori-king and I can’t wait to see what kind of drama this new relationship brings to The Gray Pack.

KJ wants to move on with her life, but to do so, means trusting strangers to save her mother and protect her family from a depraved werewolf. When fate suddenly dumps not one but two mates in her lap she has to decide if her dreams are more important than her destiny.

Find the first three books in The Gray Pack series at all of the major e-book retailers, or on my Siren page: http://bookstrand.com/lori-king

As always, Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. Love it….having a girls night with those two would be a hoot

Comments are closed.

