Skip to content

Saying Thank You.

by on July 4, 2013

I grew up with family members who were veteran’s of the military, or serving in the military. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t personally know people who were enlisted, or who had served at some point. About eight years ago my Uncle was sent to Iraq, and during his service I came face to face with the reality that there are hundreds of soldiers serving overseas that never receive any sort of thank you, or support package. When I think about it, it physically hurts my heart. Men and women who are putting their own lives on the line to protect my freedom and my family, were doing so every single day without any of the comforts of home.

It became a personal mission of mine to say thank you to as many as I possibly could. I stumbled over the website www.AnySoldier.com and an addiction was born. Via AnySoldier I was able to read letters and requests from the people whose boots were literally in the sand. The best part is that the system they have in place works to get the supplies to the military personnel who actually need it.

AnySoldierHeader490

I started shipping out boxes and writing letters to various military men and women, and I made dozens of new friends. In the beginning I spent a fortune on expensive items to fill huge boxes thinking that that was what they wanted and needed. I came to realize that most of them appreciated a letter or card, just as much as a box full of Easy Mac and Skittles. (Although I rarely send a box without some sort of treat in it.)

It is a matter of personal pride to me that I have taught my children to say thank you and to support our military even when they don’t know them. We send at least one care package every month, and multiple letters to our friends overseas. This 4th of July, I’m asking my readers to take a few minutes out of their day to pick an active duty member of our military on www.AnySoldier.com and write them a short thank you letter. Or if you can afford to, send them a package. Unbuttered popcorn is cheap as packing peanuts, and they love to read old magazines and watch the DVD’s you were going to take to the resale shop. USPS even has special military rates for the priority mail shipping boxes!

Don’t have time to shop? Check out www.Minimus.biz or http://troopcarepack.com or http://www.operationgratitude.com/ ! All of these sites can help, and believe me, it will make someone’s day.

Take a couple of minutes to say THANK YOU! I know I will. Have a safe and happy July Fourth!

Image Credit: www.123rf.com

Image Credit: http://www.123rf.com

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

