Skip to content

Dreams of The Wolf was picked up by Siren! Taste it here…

by on May 27, 2013

I’m sharing a snippet from Dreams of the Wolf (The Gray Pack Book 4) to celebrate! It will be out in August 2013! Keep watching for updates!4065151_s

KJ couldn’t believe she was actually enjoying herself. These guys were turning out to be easier to get along with than she first expected. She knew that Rafe still wasn’t ready to be friends yet, but truth be told she wasn’t sure she even liked her oldest brother. He seemed so gruff and serious. Shandi was kind hearted, and her nature was truly generous. KJ had never had any female friends near her age. The only people close to her in age were male, and had no friendly interest in her. After the one time one of them tried to make a move on her, and she nearly ripped his arm from his body to escape none of them ever attempted to touch her again.

Until today, there hadn’t been any males of any species that she was even remotely attracted to. To her, being mated was akin to being chained with silver to the stove, and forced to cook, clean, and breed babies. It wasn’t the life she wanted for herself.

Even the distant thought of Thomas Jameson in the other van though, filled her stomach with butterflies, and made her palms sweat. Her fingers itched to run through his dark brown hair, while she got lost in his almond shaped brown eyes. What would his mustache and goatee feel like against her skin, for that matter, what would his lips feel like on hers? She closed her eyes and rested her head against the seat trying to think about anything else, but him.

A silent tension filled the van, and she cracked her eyes to find Noah and Cash both gaping at her with wide eyes. “What?” she snapped.

The two men exchanged looks, and she glanced up to see Ryley glaring at Cash in the rearview mirror. “What the fuck, man. That’s my sister.” He growled at Cash, who threw his hands up.

“Not me, dude! I don’t know what has her all worked up.” Cash said shifting in his seat. KJ frowned at Noah who was still staring at her, his nostrils flaring. She took in a deep breath, catching the musky scent of desire, and she groaned loudly. They could smell her desire, and they thought it was because of one of them.

“Shit. No! It’s not either of them Ryley. I don’t want either one of them, I promise!” she said, trying to calm her racing heart, and her jumpy hormones.

“Thank God!” Ryley sighed.

“Hey!” Cash protested.

“Why not, sugar? I promise I’ll make it good for you.” Noah said with a wink as he blew her a kiss. Ryley reached out and smacked him, before he turned his attention back to her.

“KJ, who is it? Don’t try to deny it. I’m a mated wolf, I know the scent of the mating lust.” Ryley said. His hands were clenched around the steering wheel so tightly that his knuckles were white.

“No one. It’s no one.” She lied, turning her head to the windows. “Besides, he’s not for me.”

“Not for you? Are you mad? Well if you’re not now, you will be when you deny your wolf her mate.” Ryley’s voice was tight with frustration, and Cash and Noah looked decidedly uncomfortable. “Believe me when I tell you that you can’t ignore what you’re feeling. I went through it with Shandi. I don’t know how I ever thought I could walk away from her, but I did at one point.”

“This is none of your business Ryley. We may be family by blood, but you haven’t earned the right to pull the big brother act on me yet. Back off.” She could feel her wolf rising to the surface with her anxious energy.

“Not my business, are you kidding me?” Ryley yelled. The van swerved slightly, and then he pulled off highway onto a rest stop lane. Without saying anything else, he parked the van, and got out, slamming the door behind him.

She cursed beneath her breath as Cash and Noah exited the van. To her surprise they turned around expectantly waiting for her to follow. When she shook her head sitting still in her seat, Cash growled at her, “Don’t be ridiculous. You may as well get out of the car and stretch your legs. We have a long drive still ahead of us, and who knows when Pissy-Pants will want to stop again.”

I hope you enjoyed the taste! Live Laugh and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

 

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

