Skip to content

Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains….

by on May 21, 2013

I started Monday morning out with great intentions. I was going to write at least 8k on my newest book, and then I was going to go with my little sister to her final fitting for her wedding dress. At 3: 00 in the afternoon one of my best friends Chris posted this…

chris (2)

A few moments later, I watched live on TV as her hometown was devastated by a massive tornado. I’ve lived in Kansas my whole life, and I’ve watched as these beasts have torn apart towns every single year, but this was the first time I can recall being so far away from people I consider family, and watching…helpless.

I was able to speak with Chris later in the day and confirm that she and her small family of four are okay. However, many many many families are not. I want to encourage all of my readers, family and friends, to go give blood, donate money, or just pass on the information so that other people can. We can’t be there to help pull them from the wreckage, or hold them while they cry, but we can still help. Please go to the Red Cross website for more information!

RED CROSS

Last but not least I just want to say to Chris directly, I love you girl, and I prayed with every ounce of my heart and soul for you and your family. I’m so grateful that God answered my prayers.

More so now than ever before, I remind you to Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your ONLY chance! ~Lori

 

*QUICK NOTE! I offered a free ebook of any of my four releases to anyone who emailed me their donation confirmation to the Red Cross or the Salvation Army-ten hours later the total books given away was 42 and the total donations topped the $5k mark! Thank you SOOOOOOOO much to all who donated!

From → Blog Roll

7 Comments
  1. You made me cry :). Lovely post, Lori.

  2. Cherie Clark permalink

    I was so scared for you when it said that it was Moore that was hit by the Tornado. Thanks Lori for keeping us uprised of how Chris was doing. There is not much I can do from over here, but please know that you are all in my thoughts and hopefully Mother Nature will let you have rest and regroup soon.

    • In some ways we’re used to it, but when it’s something so traumatic and catastrophic…well…you just can’t prepare. Thank you for your kind thoughts Cherie!

  3. Beautiful post and not only do I love Chris but you too for giving us insight into your warm heart. We can all have a moment of appreciation for one another as we find ways to provide comfort and support during this craziness.

  4. That’s a beautiful post, Lori. Well said, my dear. Chris, when you get a chance to read this, please know that you have been in our thoughts and prayers, along with those in your family, your town, and your state.

Comments are closed.

