Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

by on May 11, 2013

I’ve been a mom for twelve years now, and with each year that passes, I admire my own mother more. I was…difficult…at best as a child. From moment one I was in everyone’s business trying to learn as much as possible, and I was constantly spinning fantastic tales that drove my parents and teachers crazy.

123rf.com

123rf.com

One of the first stories my mom got a phone call home about, was when I decided to tell my kindergarten class that I was raised by a pack of wolves, and that I was only allowed to eat after I hunted my own food and killed it with my bare hands. Creative, right? Yeah, mom didn’t think so when the teacher called because several students believed me and freaked out.

I guess it’s always been in my blood to create other realities, and to spin up fantasies. I see it every day in my three sons. My oldest has an imagination that rivals my own, but his downfall is that he doesn’t have any patience yet to write the stories down. My middle son is artistic, but doesn’t like reading/writing/learning as much. He prefers to draw or paint his imaginary worlds. Then there’s my youngest, who hasn’t reached preschool and is already spinning up wild stories. He recently told the daycare that he was going to get a sister from the Easter bunny because Daddy promised him one. Mind you, Mr. King and I are NOT having more children and have never even discussed babies with our youngest, but he came up with an entire story about an imaginary conversation he had with his Daddy. He also spends a lot of time with his imaginary friend, Jack, who prefers candy to vegetables, and bath time only if bubbles are included in the tub.

I watch the reenactment of my own childhood with amusement and confoundment. How did my mother survive me? How will I survive them? The truth is, I wouldn’t give any of them up for the world, and every mother’s day I take an extra moment to thank my mother for not throttling me that day when the teacher called her. I sure put her patience to the test.

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. Moms are the best Lori….I think it took having my own child to really appreciate her…for what she did for me….being a mom is the best thing I have ever done

Comments are closed.

