Skip to content

Who inspired Legacy of the Wolf’s characters?

by on January 5, 2013

By now my regular readers know that I’m a very visual person. I love to create a detailed scene in words, so that my readers get a HOT picture in their heads. My muse gets tickled by random images from everywhere, and usually from everyday things. When I start writing a book I don’t know the characters any better than you do when you pick it up to read it, but as I write they share details with me. Sometimes I know really early what they look like visually, and sometimes it takes a few chapters to “get it”. With Rafe and Ryley, there was NO trouble. They were absolutely inspired by Chris Hemsworth. I fell in lust with that man from the first moment I saw him. I’ve seen THOR at least a dozen times, and I couldn’t tell you what the plot is, but I know exactly how many minutes it I have to wait to see him without a shirt on. *wink wink*

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for Rafe Whetstone in Legacy of the Wolf.

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for the character Rafe Whetstone in Legacy of the Wolf. (Actor: Chris Hemsworth)

Rafe came to me as a much more serious rough and tumble version of Chris Hemsworth. Shorter hair, and a scruffier face led me to see him as the strong, supportive, romantic in this threesome. He is an artist, and a voice of sound reason, occasionally clashing with Ryley’s more playful spontaneous nature.

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for the character Ryley Whetstone in Legacy of the Wolf.

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for the character Ryley Whetstone in Legacy of the Wolf. (Actor: Chris Hemsworth)

Ryley…ahh…Ryley….a man who has the worst case of Peter Pan syndrome ever. He won’t grow up, no matter how serious life gets. He finds his happiness in making his woman smile and laugh, and he has a gentle, but possessive nature. As alpha male as the rest of The Gray Pack, he had high expectations from his mate, and it was wonderful writing about him and watching him learn that he can love her even with her imperfections. Right now, he is absolutely my favorite character I’ve written.  I used a couple of more playful pictures to gain inspiration from him. The longer haired version of Chris Hemsworth worked perfectly, as he looked younger and more flirty.

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for the character Shandi Martin, in  Legacy of the Wolf. (Actress: Bonnie Wright)

Picture used for Visual Inspiration for the character Shandi Martin, in Legacy of the Wolf. (Actress: Bonnie Wright)

Last but absolutely NOT least, is their heroine, Shandi Martin. She came to me while I was writing Fire of the Wolf, and began to share her life story. I was heartbroken to hear what she had lived through, and I fell in love with her sweet, sensitive nature. She’s a stunning petite woman, who is full figured, and has the most BEAUTIFUL red hair and purple eyes. Out of all of the heroines I’ve written, she probably touched my heart the most. She fell hard and fast for her men, and has embraced her new life…with a few hitches here and there. 🙂 My visual inspiration came from a photo I found of the actress Bonnie Wright. Other than the eye color, she is PERFECT!

I hope you enjoyed the peek into my brain, and my picture files! Legacy of the Wolf releases on January 8th, but you can preorder it now at a discount: http://bookstrand.com/legacy-of-the-wolf

Blurb:

Built like Vikings, the Whetstone brothers are a force to be reckoned with. As Beta Wolves of the Gray Pack, Rafe and Ryley are simultaneously two of the strongest men in the pack, and firefighters for the Kansas City Fire Department.

Twenty years have passed since their parents disappeared, and they dream of finding their mate, and having a family. They want to build a legacy of their own, but fate just dumped a big old monkey wrench in their plans by the name of…Shandi Martin.

Fighting cancer for her life, she was devastated when her boyfriend left her. So why would she want to risk her heart again? Facing destiny, she realizes that she stopped living to protect her heart three years ago. But when a mysterious rogue wolf threatens their new relationship, they are forced to make a choice. Can they accept a life with just each other, or do they need a family to be happy?

Find more of The Gray Pack series here: http://bookstrand.com/lori-king

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. mmmmmmm Im in love

Comments are closed.

