Skip to content

In the Spotlight: Lydia Michaels

by on November 29, 2012

Click to purchase!

In the Spotlight:

Lydia Michaels

www.LydiaMichaels.org

Newest Release: All 4 You

http://www.bookstrand.com/all-4-you

Jade Schultz is a woman who has always believed in indulgence and once she sets her sights on military man Jeremy Lawson, he has no where to hide. With a friendship that dates back to childhood, Jeremy is quite aware of Jade’s potency. She is not a woman easily forgotten and he has finally decided surrender to his desires. But when Jade awakens with no memory of the previous evening her world is forever changed.

After years of waiting and wanting, Jeremy realizes immediately that something is wrong, but nothing prepares him for the nightmare that is suddenly Jade’s reality. Self preservation and shame prevent Jade from going to the man she adores, but Jeremy is determined to prove his love, which he vows will survive even her darkest hours.

~~~~~~~

Hi Everyone!

I’d like to thank Lori for having me as a guest on her blog. Thanks for visiting. Below you will find my email and Facebook links if you want to know anything else. I’d love to hear from you. Also, if any of you are intrigued by what you read here and intend to check out some of my titles, fair warning, my books are usually best read in order as each series connects characters and chronological events (Especially The Order of Vampyres). Thanks for reading!

~Lydia

The Biz:

How many books do you currently have published? Currently, I have five books out there from two separate series.

My science fiction series, The Order of Vampyres, is based on an Amish order of vampyres. There are three books out in that series, Called to Order {1}, Calling for a Miracle {2}, and Destiny Calls {3}. I am currently writing book 4, Call Her Mine.

My contemporary series, New Castle, consists of four books, White Chocolate {1}, All 4 You {2}, To Catch a Wolfe {3 December 2012}, and Chasing Feathers {4 January 2013}

Do you have anything in progress right now?  This year has been an extremely busy one. By 2015 I will have 16 novels out, all of which were done this year and are in the final stretch. I’m always adding to The Order of Vampyres, as there are 72 characters to play with. My New Castle series is wrapping up, but has the potential for two more books. This spring will mark the first release of The McCullough Mountain series, a contemporary romance about a crazy Irish family from Center County, Pennsylvania. The first of that series is Sacred Waters, a book I personally adore. My first MMF erotic romance, Breaking Perfect, will be released this spring. And late 2013 readers can expect a great trilogy I’ve written that Penguin has picked up.

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about?

I love a strong, unapologetic alpha male, which most of my heroes tend to be. My females vary. In the New Castle series the heroines are all typical women who have overcome amazing challenges that beautifully display how strong women must and can be at times. My heroines in The Order of Vampyres are usually modern day women, which makes it extra fun to throw a bonnet on their head and submerge them into a primitive Amish world. Male or female, they are all flawed because they are all human, but their flaws make them no less sexy in my mind. Rather, it makes them beautiful.

What genre do you prefer to write? No matter what, it must be romance! I can write sci-fi, contemporary, erotica, ménage, YA, but love is always the key motivation.

What is the hardest part of writing for you? Hmm, writing is actually amazingly easy for me. I can write about four times faster than I can read. I love getting lost in my work. The hardest part, I suppose, is balancing my time between writing and life. It isn’t always easy to convince people that you are actually working very hard when sitting in slippers and staring out a window, but being an author takes many different forms. Typing is only one, so I would say finding time is the hardest part.

Advice for aspiring and new writers? I could overload this blog with advice. First, if you love it, stick with it!

I think what got me here is following those I admired and not being afraid to ask for advice. Bella Andre was an author whose story motivated me through many moments when I considered giving up. Authors are people. Email them. Talk to them. Ask them questions! We are flattered to be asked and, I personally, love to help budding artists (My email is: Lydia@LydiaMichaels.org).

Now, I find motivation in my own success. I’m not only an author, I’m a dyslexic author, so you can image the struggle I’ve been through. My advice would be to find inspiration and grow from it. Read as many tips about your craft as you can. Know that we can all be improved. No one is an untouchable writer. If you are interested in my personal story of how I got here, the obstacles I overcame along the way, here’s a link to an article I wrote last month: http://celise91writer.blogspot.com/2012/10/new-writers-week-lydia-micheals.html?zx=cc9d616b74194545

What a great article Lydia!

Do you use photos for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination? I imagine my characters then try to find photos of people who fit the bill.

Who did you dedicate your first book to? My book club girls. I love them. They have read so many terrible drafts and supported me from the beginning. No matter what, I mention them in almost every dedication.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books? Life. I watch people, listen to their problems, imagine how they would get themselves out of certain situations, and draw inspiration from their strength.

The Random:

Are you Male, or Female? Female.

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs? I’m dieting, so lots of produce.

What’s your favorite color? Purple.

What’s your astrological sign? Virgo.

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? I should say stairs, but I’m lazy, so elevator. Escalators scare me.

Coffee, Tea, Soda? Coffee!!!

Favorite Movie? Love Actually, The Family Stone, Braveheart, Boondock Saints (In that order)

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now? No Light, No Light by Florence + the Machine

Favorite Rainy Day activity? Snuggling

Favorite Book? Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas

The Good Stuff:

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be? Um, my husband…

What is your guiltiest pleasure? Ben and Jerry’s Coffee Heath bar Crunch ice cream

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando? I’m an all or nothing kind of gal…full coverage or commando. (lol, blushing!)

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery? Kinky fuckery!

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken? Happily taken by my hubby since I was 16!

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy? Playful, funny, and sexy!

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO? Hmm, my husband is a construction kind of guy who comes home and writes compositions at the baby grand. I’d say that’s pretty damn sexy, so I’ll stick with that.

I think that sounds pretty damn sexy myself! Way to go on snagging that one! :)Lydia’s most recent book trailer for Destiny Calls {The Order of Vampyres book 3}winner of The Top Bite Award from Bitten by Paranormal Romance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=2qzJJ7fqnl0

Where can you find Lydia Michaels?

Lydia can be found/reached at www.LydiaMichaels.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lydia-Michaels-Author-Fan-Page/212130595513597

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Lydia-Michaels/e/B0071ZV41G/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/lydia-michaels

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/lydia-michaels

Email Lydia at: Lydia@LydiaMichaels.org

Thank you so much for coming by Lydia! I love the books, and can’t wait to snap up this newest one~As always readers, Don’t forget to Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

