Skip to content

Six Sentence Sunday: (WIP) Sidney’s Triple Shot (Part C)

by on November 10, 2012

My Current Work in Progress:

Sidney’s Triple Shot

This is a snippet from my current WIP. Sidney has turned out to be a very difficult heroine to write for me. She has been through serious abuse in her lifetime which I unfortunately relate to, and it makes her very emotional. She tends to have really high highs, and very low lows. I’m learning via the Dawson brothers the process that a significant other must go through to accept that the person they love has been abused, and it wasn’t something they could have stopped.  Here is a very emotional speech from Sidney when she’s trying to explain her every present flinching reaction to sudden motions:

“I won’t deny that I felt fear, but I can’t seem to stop myself. You couldn’t possibly understand, because you have never had your life lived for you. You guys have never had anyone treat you like you’re less than nothing. You’ve never had someone who hits you just because you looked like you needed a punch in the face. You’ve never been tied up naked in the dark and left cold and alone. You don’t know what’s inside of me…I can’t be what you want, because I’m broken damn it!”

She needs her men, but she hasn’t accepted it yet, and they are struggling with her constant fears and hesitation. I hope that I can do all victims of domestic violence justice with her story.

Read more Six Sentence Sunday spots here:

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

8 Comments
  1. Good luck writing this, Lori. I’ve heard those words from so many abused folks and it’s heartbreaking. Glad you can five her a happy ending. Powerful six. 🙂

    • Thank you Siobhan. You’re right, it is heartbreaking. Sidney WILL find a happy ending with her men though. 🙂

  2. To echo those who have already commented, wow. Powerful six and a powerful context.

  3. Cherie Clark permalink

    Wow that must be hard to write but even harder to live through. Love to you and yours. keep being the wonderful person you are. Oh and when is this book out. Cheers Cherie

    • Cherie, Thank you, you’re absolutely right, it is hard to write, and even harder to live through. This book is what I’m currently working on, so it will be a little while yet, but I’ll keep posting snippets. Thanks!

  4. Wow ….my heart is pounding reading this…..just these words make me incredibly angry and hurt for Sidney….I can see this book will be an emotional roller coaster with a lot of highs and lows….Thank you for sharing

    • Sidney’s story is an adventure in exposing emotions. I’m learning a lot about myself, and also about how men deal with their own feelings towards the person who abused the woman they love. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Comments are closed.

