Skip to content

In the Spotlight: E. A. Reynolds

by on November 4, 2012

In the Spotlight:

E.A. Reynolds

http://www.bookstrand.com/ea-reynolds

JUST RELEASED:

Their Last Worthless Evening

http://www.bookstrand.com/their-last-worthless-evening

Devon Oaklyn is tired of the empty life he’s been living and returns to his home city, resolved to settle down with the woman his mother chooses. But Devon doesn’t count on the unfinished affair of his past life intruding on his present life. That was his first mistake. His second was the handshake that reignited a love too hot to hold and too timeless to deny…

Carter Cross is a man who knows what he wants, and he knows Devon is the one man who can fill the void in his life. However, Devon is in the closet and caught up in a morass of fears that Carter refuses to allow to control his life. So when Devon pushes him away, Carter walks.

But it doesn’t take long for Devon to realize he can’t live without Carter, and he launches a sensual assault to win back the man who’s captured his heart and captivated his soul.

The Biz:

How many books do you currently have published? Two with my newest release, Their Last Worthless Evening.

Do you have anything in progress right now? Yes, I’m working on book number 4 in my Psy-Docs series.

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about? I’m a take charge kind of girl, not a complete alpha female, but I adore a good strong alpha male who isn’t too overbearing.

What genre do you prefer to write? I grew up reading straight MF romance, but I love writing paranormal because of my fascination with psychic abilities.

What is the hardest part of writing for you? The hardest part of writing is coming up with new ideas. I want to be fresh and original, but there is so very little that hasn’t already been said or done.

Advice for aspiring and new writers? I’m not one to give advice, but I’d say just keep plugging away and learn as much as you can about the business of writing. Be confident in what you write, in your ability to deliver your message and be confident in yourself. At the same time, learn to take the sour lemons of criticism and make some lemonade. By that I mean, pick it apart and use what you can to improve your writing and throw the rest away.

Do you use photo’s for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination? I’ve always been very imaginative, so I use my imagination most of the time. However, when I doubt what I want to create is possible, I turn to science and genetics to see if the image I want is possible then I look for pictures.

Who did you dedicate your first book to? I dedicated my first book to a gay guy who gave me a little insight into his life as a non-dominant gay guy.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books? Divine intervention. Ha. Ha. Yeah, Sometimes, I hear a song and all I can see is a love scene or a relationship that’s a living version of the song. I just want to create it. I build around that relationship.

The Random:

Are you Male, or Female? Female

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs? Cheese, Dr. Pepper, and green olives and plenty of bottled water and salad greens.

What’s your favorite color? Blue

What’s your astrological sign? I’m an Aquarius.

I knew I liked you! 🙂

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? Stairs

Coffee, Tea, Soda?  Tea and Soda

Favorite Movie? Without a doubt Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows both parts.

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now? Right this second I have Hero Here We Are, by Gloria Estefan playing.

Favorite Rainy Day activity? Reading and writing of course.

The Good Stuff:

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be? Damn just one? Pocket Rocket.

What is your guiltiest pleasure? Reading MM romance.

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando? OR Boxers, Briefs, Boxer Briefs, Commando? I’m a briefs girl.

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery? Depends on my mood.

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken? Single and loving it.

Favorite Book? Hostage to Pleasure by Nalini Singh. I’m a big fan of her Psy-Changeling series, but I am becoming a Stormy Glenn as well.

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy? All of the above!!! If I had to choose one, I’d say funny and sexy. I find humor very sexy all by itself.

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO?  Okay that’s a mood question. Not an artist because we can be so moody. A construction worker might be dark and sexy, but a CEO is gonna be tense with money. A biker, not my style. So, I’d take a construction worker. No creative differences to stall the fling, right?

True, and a construction worker would be good with their hands! Thank you Ms. Reynolds for sharing with us! Here’s an excerpt from this hot new release!

“Any reason it’s your business?”

Carter leaned forward, feeling even more drawn to the man now that he was close to him. The attraction was powerful and unlike any he’d ever known. Looking into his pretty eyes Carter felt as if he‘d met him before. As if he‘d known him forever. “You’re a real smart-ass,” he drawled, his gaze skating over the man’s well-formed features. He was even cuter up close and his eyes were beautiful, darkly ringed gray on the inner part of the iris yet lighter blue on the outer ring.

“I bet you’re real hot in bed.” He spoke low enough that he wouldn’t be overheard by the patrons at the two tables near them.

The square tables were spaced far enough apart for comfortable conversation, but Carter had learned early to keep it easy, cool, and not too seductive in places where gay bashers might be hanging out. His psychokinetic skills were off-the-charts powerful. He could tear a hole in any man’s brain, or stop his heart with a single thought. However, it was easier to be careful.

He watched the blue-gray eyes flare in surprise, but the cutie didn’t shrink away or screw his face up in a belligerent scowl while balling up his fists, offering to show him what a real man was like. Carter sat back and continued to take open stock, making no secret of what he wanted.

“You interested or you want me to fuck off?” he asked, letting his eyes drink up the eyes so full of indecision. “I’m Carter Cross.” Carter stuck out his hand.

“Devon Oaklyn.” Devon took his hand. Heat seemed to flare in the center of his palm, and his eyes widened. He was suddenly thrown back in time.

He was standing in a garden with roses, leaning against an old English oak. He was looking up into hazel green eyes, long lashed, and an intense gaze fixed him. He was aroused and powerful feelings rushed through him. Love.

“It’s okay, love,” William Randall crooned. “I know this is hard for you and that’s why I wanted you to come with me. So we could have some time on our own away from all the distractions of our lives.”

“He wants me to marry her,” Harry James said.

“Then you’ll marry her,” his lover returned. “You’ll still belong to me. Besides, it’s all about money, and position. It has nothing to do with your heart.”

“Never has,” he murmured.

He shrugged. “No one will question a Duke’s friendship with another man, a younger male of a powerful family no less. So, just do what you have to do.”

“Nice to meet you,” Carter said, snatching Devon out of his vision. Or was it a memory? Devon mused, so unsure. This had never happened to him before in spite of his being a clairvoyant. “Mind if I buy?”

“I’m not gay,” Devon said.

Carter studied him a moment then, “I like women, but I prefer men.” Carter shrugged, flashing him a smile that had Devon’s insides melting. “So, you’re letting me buy?”

Devon’s gaze was careful in its perusal. He liked what he saw and there was no doubt he’d let him buy. That was a far as it went though.

“Are you ready to order?” The waitress appeared then in her jeans and green T-shirt. Her fawn-brown hair was pulled back from her pretty, lightly made-up face in a tight braid. Her gaze swiveled from Devon to Carter and her lips pulled into a flirty smile.

Carter smiled back, keeping his smile benign. He did like women, but he was sitting across from the sexiest man he’d ever seen and he intended to have him. His gaze left hers and went to Devon, whose full lips quirked in a faint smile, and Carter gave him an enigmatic look. “What do you think, Dev? Know what you want?” Carter put just enough emphasis on the words to let Devon know he meant more than just the food.

“I’m ready to order.” He gave nothing away except that slight hungry look in his eyes that Carter recognized and devoured.

“Okay.” The waitress turned back to Devon while he ordered. Then she turned her seductive smile on Carter, who gave her just enough game to throw off suspicion. He ordered, and she sashayed away with a bit of an extra wiggle and Carter turned back to Devon.

“She’s cute. Why haven’t you hit on her?”

“I only date within my race,” he stated matter-of-factly.

“Hmm,” Carter mused. “Why settle for just one flavor when there’s a multitude to choose from?”

Devon shrugged. “Just not my style, but I take it it’s yours.”

Carter shrugged broad shoulders. “You know it, man,” he said with a smile, then, “I’ve watched you come in here alone for two weeks straight, and can’t believe you’re not seeing anyone. You’re hot, got a real nice ass I’d love to do some things to, and you seem like a decent guy. Always polite to the ladies.”

Devon laughed. “I’ve seen you a few times. Where’s tonight’s flavor?”

Carter smiled and leaned forward, setting his half-full longneck beer bottle to the side. “Friends, but I hope this will get to be a little more than that.”

“Direct as hell,” Devon said He kept the fear out of his eyes because he was afraid. This man seemed like just the man who could blow his plans apart.

Hmmm…I hear the snap crackle pop of chemistry! Yummo! Snap up a copy at http://www.bookstrand.com/their-last-worthless-evening

As Always, Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

