Skip to content

Why do we like Menage Stories?

by on October 15, 2012

Why do we like Menage stories….So this trend of ménage based erotic romance stories has been really hot lately, and I have to admit I’ve been bitten by the group love bug. To be fair, I have actually lived in a ménage relationship in the past, but I currently have a monogamous one with my spouse. So clearly I already know what the benefits are of this kind of grouping. Besides the obvious-multiple men focused on one woman making her feel like she is the center of their world-there are a few other things that appealed to me personally.

First of all I will point out the elephant…er…stud in the room. (hee hee) The sex. Yep, it’s good. Like I said women are attracted to the idea of having men focused on her, and her needs. Just like a submissive is focused on her Dom’s pleasure, and vice versa, the members of a ménage have to be focused on each other completely. With more members in the group, there is more to feel, do, and enjoy.

Although, it’s maybe not always as amazing as in the books I write, it is an undeniably wonderful experience. I’ve had a few experiences with awkwardness, too. Who’s elbow was that? Crap, I have a leg cramp! Wait did you just snort during sex? A verbal debate over heads or Tails.  Ultimately, I believe the more the merrier because everyone should have an orgasm daily.  Let me just say that sexuality is just one piece of the relationship.

Secondly, I think that women are looking for multiple things in a partner, and so the idea of having two men (or more) who fulfill her every desire in a mate just sounds fantastic. You can have a bad boy who occasionally ignores you, but turns you on more than anyone else, while you also have a sensitive sweet man who wants to take you out to a romantic dinner and dancing just to make you feel special. *Side note, this is not going to happen but it’s a nice fantasy lol* You might find one man who is the perfect father for your offspring, and a woman who is the best friend you’ve always wanted. You might be able to have two men who are as in love with each other as they are with you, and everyone can be open and free in their love and sexual desires. It’s more about fulfilling the different qualities that we think we want in a mate, and this is a somewhat simple way to have your cake and eat it too.

Third, I think that there is a part of us that is scared of being alone. If we have more than one mate, then there is a better chance that if something happened to one, you wouldn’t be left alone. This is a little cooky, but honest. Grief is grief so if one of your partners was gone for some reason you would still be broken hearted-I know from experience-but it does better the odds of never being alone to have more than one mate.

So if it’s so good, why aren’t we all doing it? Well, duh! Not too many people can let go of their jealousy to be comfortable in a ménage. Consider how often self-doubt and jealousy impact a standard relationship, and multiply that by the number of desired partners. And then there’s the fact that a lot of our society hangs on to this idea of “real marriage” being between one man and one woman. Social norms tend to put people off unfortunately. I’ve never cared about social norms, as all of you loyal readers already know.

My book Fire of the Wolf (The Gray Pack 1) has a menage relationship between twin brothers who are werewolves, and the human destined to the their mate. Be sure to pick it up from Amazon if menage captivates you too…

http://www.amazon.com/Siren-Publishing-Menage-Amour-ebook/dp/B00913OTJK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350257130&sr=8-1&keywords=fire+of+the+wolf

NOW take a second to tell me what you think about menage/poly relationships in the comments!

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance~Lori

From → Blog Roll

13 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on ΗΒιννο.

  2. I have a theory that menage stories (and erotic romance in general) is on the rise because more people are looking safe fantasies. We may not all have what it takes to be in a menage relationship. Maybe we don’t have a way to comfortably fit that sort of life-style into the mainstream lives we lead. E-books and print romance gives the reader a moment in time to be someone and do something they may not get a chance to do otherwise. It’s a mini-vacation neatly packed away in a thin little e-reader ready and waiting when ever we want! AND none of that after-trip laundry to do. Bonus!

    • J Annas Walker, I can absolutely see your point. The initial reason to read an romance novel is to escape into a fantasy world. I don’t think that menage is for everyone, but I think it’s a fantasy that man people share. Now that ebooks are more readily available, more people can indulge in those fantasies. 🙂 Thank you for your input!

  3. siobhanmuir permalink

    I like reading (and writing) about menage relationships, but for myself, I don’t think I could do it. It’s not the social norms (my husband and I don’t have any use for those and it’s nobody’s business how we conduct ourselves in our bedroom), but it can be exhausting just figuring out what one man needs, let alone two or more. I like the idea, but for me, I’m really happy with just one. 🙂

    • You’re right Siobhan, a menage relationship takes work, and there are more people so in essence more emotions and more work. I found in my experience that there were many pros and cons, but my husband and I are content with our relationship as is now, and it is DEFINITELY no one’s business what goes on in anyone elses bedroom. Unless they want to share that is! LOL

  4. I love menage stories, I like seeing more and more new ones come out. Because it really has been a taboo hidden subject for so long. Seeing these becoming more prevalent is a huge step in making it known, that yes, these relationships do happen, and are more common than you think. That people in multiple partnerships, can be happy. Even in the fairy tale world where most are brothers, or close friends, it pushes a subject that has been in the dark, into the light. I love reading the happy endings, the struggles(because we all know, life is full of them) the rewards. Its not just about the sex. Although that is a huge bonus.
    The best thing about a poly relationship, is there is always someone there. The stress is lessened because you have more than one to help out. No one is left to do it by themselves. If you want time alone with one, another could be dealing with kids and visa versa next time around. If you need to get dinner cooked, help with homework and change a babys diaper..Isnt it nice to have one help with that awful math, another change the diaper and no risk to burning dinner.
    There are so many pluses to a poly relationship. The biggest negative is society. And well.. the more people in the less likely you are to get away from them all when you need a break lol.

    Now Im going back to a lovely story… written by the lovely Lori King……

    • Chris, I think that having someone around for the physical companionship, as well as the emotional support is one of the reasons that this is such a big fantasy for women specifically. We’re brought up in a society that expects a lot from us, and the idea of having more than one person who loves you enough to focus on you and you alone has it’s merits. Thank you for commenting! Now go read that book! 🙂

  5. WOW! Xxx

  6. Well Lori, I am a 33 year old virgin that wants lots of sex but nobody seems interested in helping me fulfil these needs. I have always been really inquisitive about Sex/Making Love/Fucking and about being a filling in a hunky men sandwich (ever since I heard Cybil Shepherd tell someone about her Cybil Sandwich) I started reading Mills and Boons to feed my romantic side and then one day not long after i had received my Kindle as an early Christmas present , I downloaded a Menage story; and so my addiction to these books started, lol! I really want to experience a menage relationship with at least 2 men but I wouldn’t turn down experiencing it with more☺ “giggles”. Somebody said to me once with regards to sex and relationships “don’t knock it till you try it” this is now my philosophy!! I have decided that life’s to short and so I want to experience everything ; I just need to find people who feel the same way as me and want to help me experience it all, lol!!! Xxx

    • Lisa, I completely agree with your philosphy to experience EVERYTHING that life has to offer, but I do think that it’s easy to getfixated on what we THINK we want, and end up missing something great. My hubs and I are in a monogomous marriage, but believe me it ain’t a boring one! LOL I found him right after I went through a divorce at the tender age of 22, and I had sworn off of relationships with men. You see how well that worked almost 9 yrs later. Be open to all possibilities, and put yourself out there. I think that if women focused more on building relationships with people (men or women) and less on trying to find a soul mate, things would work themselves out. 🙂 Just my opinion!~Lori

      • I totally agree with what you are saying Lori; all I ever wanted in a relationship is what my parents have. They have been married 36 and half years and are still madly in love; they argue and irritate each other sometimes but always forgive each other. My mother always says that you should never go to bed on an argument! I just want to be with someone who likes me for me and who wants to be with me even when I am being a bitch; someone who makes me laugh and who accepts me, warts and all. I just can’t see that ever happening to me so my DOM dream men will just have to do for the rest of my life! Xx

        • Lisa keep a positive outlook, never say never. Your Dom dream man is out there, and he’s looking for his perfect sub. You’ll find each other. I am a hopeless romantic, and I have a hard time letting anything sway my belief that eventually everyone will find happiness. 🙂

        • Thanks Lori, I’ve always believed that there is at least 1 someone out there for all of us but lately I’ve been struggling to believe it about myself. I hope it does happen for me but I think everyone else has given up on me too!😩 I’ll just have to experience everything through the fab books I read from authors like you. Thanks for listening Lori 😀 xxxx

Comments are closed.

