Skip to content

In the Spotlight: Sage Marlowe

by on October 6, 2012

Click to purchase!

In the Spotlight: Sage Marlowe

www.sage-marlowe.com

Just released October 6th! The highly anticipated follow up to More Ink, Sweat, and Tears…

Yet More Ink, Sweat, and Tears…

http://www.bookstrand.com/yet-more-ink-sweat-and-tears

Caelan and Dean Fowler’s relationship is yet again put to the test by the ups and downs of life. Caelan is forced to take an extended time off his beloved job as a tattoo artist due to an injury, and Dean finds his dreams of a quiet office job and a peaceful suburban home about to be shattered once and for all.

While Caelan is struggling along on the road to recovery, Dean seizes his chance and snatches him away on a long-overdue holiday. Although he is hoping that this change of scenery may just be what his husband needs to tie up a few loose ends in his life, Dean is surprised by the outcome.

Back home, they find that there are yet more pieces waiting to fall into place and that sometimes, when dreams get shattered, new dreams can be built on the ruins of the old ones.

The Biz:

How many books do you currently have published? The moment I’m writing this, I have ten books published, and another four contracted and scheduled for release until the end of January.

Do you have anything in progress right now? Always! I’m awfully fickle when it comes to my stories, and often I just can’t resist writing a scene of a different story or even half a manuscript instead of my actual WIP.  Usually something crops up then and I don’t get to finish it. The queue is currently twenty titles long – and those are just the ones I have already started writing…

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about? I love writing multi-faceted, deep and troubled characters. Or rather, those are the types that always seem to approach me and honour me with their choice to let me be the one to tell their story.

What genre do you prefer to write? I write MM erotic romance exclusively, mostly contemporary or light BDSM but I am also delving into paranormal and suspense with two of my upcoming releases.

What is the hardest part of writing for you? Snatching time off my alter ego’s life so I can sit down and write.

Advice for aspiring and new writers? Write what your heart and your characters want, not what is popular. Try to find someone who will give you honest and constructive criticism but don’t let poor ratings and opinions given by self-declared “reviewers” on big platforms drag you down.

Do you use photo’s for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination?  I don’t get much say in this – it’s the characters who present themselves, just the way they are. Sometimes I don’t know what they look like until I’m halfway through their story.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books? I don’t – either the characters or the story just find me.

The Random:

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs? Light and loads of past their date products.

What’s your favorite color? Black. Black and… Black.

What’s your astrological sign? I’m a virgo

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? Sofa. With laptop on lap.

Coffee, Tea, Soda? Coffee!!!

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now? “Bullets” by Editors

Favorite Rainy Day activity? Writing a book. Or reading one.

The Good Stuff:

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be? Do the fantasies in my head count as items???

What is your guiltiest pleasure? Ha! You wish you knew, don’t you?

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando? OR Boxers, Briefs, Boxer Briefs, Commando? That really depends on who’s wearing it. Or not.

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery?  Yes please! Oh, is that a question?

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken? Snatched away…

Favorite Book? There are many books I have read and adore and so many more I have yet to discover, so I can’t possibly narrow it down to one.

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy? Tall dark and handsome who happens to also be playful, funny and sexy.

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO? Any of those, depending on my mood…

Here’s an exerpt from Yet More Ink, Sweat, and Tears…

Dean sighed. Strange what you started thinking about when your thoughts were left to roam freely. He got up and went to the kitchen to check everything once again.

The food smelled delicious, and a well-chilled bottle of fruity Chardonnay sat in its cooler. Beads of condensation were collecting on its sleek outside, lending it a glossy wet sheen like the perspiration on a lover’s exhausted body after a night full of passion. Dean huffed sarcastically. If only.

The table was laid, and he’d even dug out the pristine white tablecloth his mother had given them—as a wedding present, no less. It had never been used and, in all probability, would never have been used, but the sight of the polished kitchen table had become a painful reminder of what had happened on it during that significant evening a couple of weeks ago. Not that it was to blame as such. The disc in Caelan’s back could have herniated any time, but now the connection was there in both of their minds.

Of course, Dean could have chosen their formal dining room as the setting for his plan instead, but the big, carefully decorated space was just too…well, formal. It would serve well to host a group of friends or, more likely, Dean’s parents when they came to visit, but it wasn’t the place for an intimate, candlelit dinner that was supposed to set the mood for delightful things to come.

Just as he was stirring the sauce once more, Dean heard the scratching of a key in the front door. The sound sent a little jolt of hopeful excitement through him and yes, his cock actually gave a little twitch of anticipation. The poor thing hadn’t had much fun lately and was beginning to be frighteningly easy to stir. So much so that Dean had even taken it out to play an hour earlier, just so he wouldn’t be running the risk of putting an untimely end to the evening. But touching himself just wasn’t the same as doing it with Caelan, his sinfully sexy and delightfully naughty husband. And what a sight he was.

Previous relief or not, Dean’s cock gave another curious twitch when Caelan’s slender shape appeared in the doorframe. Leaning his shoulder on it, he hesitated, sniffing the air carefully with an expression that was half-amusement, half-pleasant surprise on his beautiful face.

“Something smells nice here,” he observed. The corners of his mouth were tilted up in a faint smile, and suddenly, Dean was so turned on, he could have happily forgotten all about dinner and just taken Caelan right there and then.

Instead, he cleared his throat a little awkwardly. “I was hoping it would.”

“What is it?”

“Chicken filet in a creamy lemon-and-coconut sauce with asparagus and rice.”

Caelan raised his eyebrows. “Wow. You’ve gone all out, haven’t you? What’s the special occasion?”

Dean shrugged and took a step closer to Caelan. “Nothing special,” he said quietly. “Apart from the fact that every day I get to be with you is special.”

“Oh.” Caelan looked a little surprised and self-conscious, as always when openly praised, but the soft smile was still there.

“I’d just like us to have a nice evening. Eat, drink a glass of wine, chat, and relax. Think you’re up for that?”

Caelan’s gaze flicked to the stove for a moment before he looked at Dean again. This time, a hint of discomfort had crept into his striking grey-green eyes. “Well, I am quite exhausted, to be honest. Therapy was hell, and I’m longing for a soak in the bath ’cause my back aches and—”

“Caelan,” Dean said gently and closed the distance between them. Raising his hands, he cupped Caelan’s head and made him meet his eyes. “It’s just dinner. I know you’re not…comfortable with the way things are right now, but you can’t keep your distance from me forever. I love you. I don’t care if you’re a little damaged or not. Well, I mean, obviously I do care, but…oh, you know what I’m trying to say, right?”

“Dean…” Falling silent, Caelan dropped his gaze. He didn’t quite pull away, but had gone rigid in Dean’s hold.

“Please, love. I know you’re having a hard time adapting, but avoiding me isn’t going to change anything. And it’s not as though you are disfigured or scarred or something like that.”

Caelan heaved a sigh. “No. No, I’m not disfigured, that’s right. But…” He trailed off again, biting his lip and looking troubled.

“But what?” Dean prompted.

“But I’ve changed. It won’t be like what we’re used to,” Caelan blurted out. “Hell, I’m having a fucking hard time just moving my legs and…” He closed his eyes, and his voice had dropped to a shameful whisper when he added, “It…doesn’t quite work the way it used to.”

“What do you mean it doesn’t…?” Dean started but, understanding, shut up. “Oh,” he said after a moment. “You mean you…?”

“Uh-huh.” Caelan nodded gravely. “Side effect of the nerve being inflamed, apparently.”

And before we go, I have to share my two favorite M/M books written by Sage! Together they were a poignant love story that touched my heart. Not to mention HOT HOT HOT!

Catching a Pheonix: http://www.bookstrand.com/catching-a-phoenix

Keeping a Pheonix:  http://www.bookstrand.com/keeping-a-phoenix

 

Okay, NOW you can go snag up your copies of Sage’s books! Thank you again for visiting Sage!

As always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance~Lori

From → Blog Roll

4 Comments
  1. Great interview Sage!!! Congrats on the new release 🙂

    • Thanks, India-Jean! Yeah, Lori really made me sweat a bit with her questions 😉

      • Aw Sage you did fantastic! I loved learning more about you! You have a gift for creating a beautiful love story out of mere words! Thanks again for visiting today!

Comments are closed.

