Skip to content

Learning to love ME!

by on September 18, 2012

Women in general are unhappy with their physical appearance. We all know that. Society builds up the idea that a woman must be perfectly flawless in figure and in face, in order to attract a man. I’ve just recently had this thrown in my face, and I want to call bull-shit. Beauty is not based on your size.

I’m not a perfect size zero, nor will I ever be. I dealt with an eating disorder in highschool, so I have a very clear perception now of how I see myself, and how I’ve allowed others to affect my views on my body. This year I turned 30, and I decided that after giving up my twenties to the fairytale idea of a perfect family, I was going to work on me in my thirties.

I accepted that I wasn’t happy with the me that I had become, so I started Weight Watchers in the spring. Not because I think that I need to be slimmer in order to fit into the world, but so that I could learn how to eat properly, and then teach my children how. Let me be clear: I AM NOT LOSING WEIGHT TO BE SKINNY.

Instead I’m working on my health. I’m feeling better, sleeping better, eating better, and seeing a lot of progress in my weight loss. I’m down nearly 4 pants sizes, and 20 lbs. I feel better, I sleep better, and I know that I’m healthier for my family.

I share this, because I know how many others deal with their own weight loss battles, and self-esteem issues. I want those people to know that you aren’t alone. I’m doing it in the best way for me, and you should seek to do it in the best way for you. Because ultimately we have to love ourselves before we can truly love anyone else.

I write characters who are real women. Some are small and curvy, while others are tall and lithe. I don’t focus on their physical appearance, because I want their personality to show through. I want my readers to feel invested in the heroine. All of my heroines have self-doubts, because I haven’t met a woman who doesn’t have some. I hope you find one or two that you relate to when you read my stories.

I would love to hear about your own journey with learning to love yourself. Leave a comment and I will do my best to respond!

Always Live, Laugh, and LOVE YOURSELF!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

