Skip to content

How I choose to remember September 11 2001

by on September 10, 2012

On September 11, 2001 I was just like everyone else. I was naive, and sheltered and never imagined the horror that would unfold in our country that morning. I don’t need to post pictures of the events of that day, because I can still vividly remember them in my mind and in my nightmares. Anyone who was alive at the time will have SOME memories of that day. There has not been a year since that I haven’t paused to remember where I was that day, how I felt while I watched the attacks, and reflect upon all of the lives that were touched that day. It wasn’t just the people who died and their families that were forever changed. It was our entire world.  I’m sharing my story, mainly because this is my blog, and it’s my opportunity to share it with the world. I feel connected to you this way, so if hearing about it bothers you, then please don’t read any further. Take this as your escape hatch, and know that I still appreciate your visit to my blog, and wish you a happy day.

I was 9 months pregnant with my first son. My husband at the time and I were sitting in the waiting room at the doctors office. A woman ran into the office yelling that we were being attacked at the capital. We were clearly clueless on what the hell she was talking about, but her obvious hysteria was scary. We managed to get through our OB appointment, and hurry home to our small apartment.

We had just been married three days before, and moved into our first place together. We didn’t even have cable. We didn’t need it. Using the antenae on the top of a 13inch tv we managed to turn the tv on just in time to see the second plane hit. I remember vividly screaming, and dropping onto my knees. I couldn’t grasp that it was really happening, and my brain kept going over the things that those people must be experiencing.

We sat in horror and shock just like the rest of the world, watching people die, and people run for their lives. We were faced with true villains, and the most heroic of hero’s that day. I learned personally, that you can’t stop bad people from doing bad things. I found a faith that I had lost many years before. I felt the pride of my nation, and the anger of the families affected. All of this, as I sat and watched it on a tiny television, in Topeka, Kansas.

I can’t relate to the people who lived it. Nor would I ever attempt to do so. That is a hell that I would never wish upon anyone, or attempt to compare with. I can only say that I was there, supporting you. While you grieved, I grieved with you for your loved one. While you prayed, I prayed with you for your loved one. While you cried, I cried more tears than I can count.

At the time I couldn’t help but wonder, what kind of a world I was bringing my child into. Now I’m able to say, that I have done my best to teach him about what happened. He asks questions, and I try to answer honestly, but just like anyone who lived through a monumental disaster, I can’t share with him the feelings from that day. So I share them with you. I hope you find some hope, or comfort, or solace in my story. I have no doubt you shared some of my emotions that day. The most important thing I think that we all learned is to take every day as if it might be your last.

Always Live, Laugh, and Love as if today is your only chance. ~Lori

From → Blog Roll

4 Comments
  1. I too remember everything about that day as if it happened yesterday. I don’t think any of us who watched it unfold before our eyes will ever forget. Your post was beautiful. Thank you for sharing your story.

    Tammy/Lia

    • Tammy, You’re absolutely right. We all say that we will “Never Forget” but the truth is we couldn’t if we wanted to. It’s too raw and painful to pretend it didn’t happen. Thank you for visiting!

  2. Lori – this tribute is amazing. It’s difficult enough bringing a child into this world, but I can’t begin to imagine how you felt – about to give birth and facing this nightmare. I watched everything unfold on television in Australia and was absolutely mortified. The entire world was mortified. This is something none of us ever want to witness again. We will be remembering those lives lost and the loved-ones still in mourning on this very solemn day.

    • Diane, Thank you as always for your kind response. I think that our shared horror and grief over the tragedy is why the world puts forth so much effort to pay tribute to the people who lost their lives that day. The acts of a few madmen went on to change teh way we think, feel, and act in our everyday lives.

Comments are closed.

