Skip to content

In the Spotlight: Jennifer August

by on August 19, 2012

In The Spotlight: Jennifer August

www.jenniferaugust.com

http://www.bookstrand.com/jennifer-august

Click to Purchase Empowered

Just Released: Empowered Sexual Magic 3

http://www.bookstrand.com/empowered

A psychotic Domme stalking his partner, Madelyn Girard, makes Enricher Noah Bishop’s current assignment—helping ultra-successful businessman Gabriel Fleming embrace his Dom-ness—fraught with danger.

Krista, a former assignment for the pair who wants to break Madelyn beneath her whip, almost killed Madelyn once. Noah has vowed she’ll never have another shot.

The real danger could be to his heart…when Madelyn, not just his sub and partner but lover for ten years, falls for Gabriel.

Gabriel isn’t sure what he needs to fill the dull ache in his soul. Falling for Maddie is crazy. It’s clear her heart belongs to Noah.

Fortunately Maddie’s a sub who’s not afraid to tell her Doms what she needs—both of them.

When Krista grabs Maddie, the men work together to save her, forging a bond that provides the strength to fight for their sweet sub…and give them all a happily ever after.

The Biz

How many books do you currently have published? I currently have 9 books published. They are all e-books, but Enlightened will be available in print in September and Empowered in December.

Do you have anything in progress right now? I have three projects I’m juggling at the moment – A new series for Siren featuring ex-marines turned cowboys, a fun vampire romp and a  secret project that is quite interesting but very terrifying for me. It’s not anything I’ve ever done before and I’m working hard to get it finished.

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about? I love writing about strong, sassy heroines. Even though a lot of my heroines are subs in the world of BDSM, they are not without spirit, backbone and usually a whole lot of sarcasm. I love heroes who are equally strong but not afraid to be vulnerable or show their emotions.

What genre do you prefer to write? All of them? J My first love has always been traditional historical romance in the vein of Kathleen Woodiwiss, Julia Quinn and Julie Garwood. But I have found my niche in erotic romance. It’s fun and sexy and lets me come up with absolutely all sorts of delicious trouble for my characters.

Advice for aspiring and new writers? There are three basic rules that I personally follow: 1. Have a writing schedule. No matter what your life is like, carve out specific times for yourself to write and stick to it. 2. Get a critique partner/group you can trust. Think of it as setting up a blind date. You should find partners who are like-minded in their reading tastes and knowledge (i.e., if you write inspirational, suspense, horror, erotica, etc., your partners should not mind reading it). 3. Stay abreast of industry trends. This is crucial, especially with the changing landscape of publishing. Know what’s going on with traditional publishers, what sort of in-roads are being made through self-publishing, what kind of expectations there are regarding both and always gather current information.

Do you use photos for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination?  Sometimes both. I’m horrible at remembering eye and hair color of my characters. I’m not sure why, it just seems to be a huge block for me. I use photos of models or actors and sometimes even drawings and paintings to base my characters on, but usually only for the hair and eye color thing. Madelyn, my heroine from Empowered [Sexual Magic 3] is actually a take on Snow White. A super sexy Snow White. Her description from the hero’s POV is a grocery list of fairy tale sexiness!

Who did you dedicate your first book to? I dedicated it to my critique partners who had slogged through many years and revisions of it. Those poor ladies heard and critiqued four different versions of Knight of the Mist until I went all the way back to the original concept. I also dedicated it to my mom, dad, brother and son for their unending patience. It’s pretty difficult to be a family member to a writer. We tend to be forgetful, holed up and unavailable and have odd reactions to the most innocuous comments (generally this is a sign that an idea is being formed).

The Random

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs? Diet Dr Pepper, a billion varieties of cheese, G2 Gatorde in Fruit Punch and a gel eye mask for those headache days.

What’s your favorite color? Pink. Purple. Black. Red. Blue. I have trouble deciding, as you can see.

What’s your astrological sign? That really depends on who is doing the forecasting. I was born on the cusp so it’s sometimes Aquarius and sometimes Pisces. I do tend to lean more to the Pisces side of life, though.

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? If I’m in full on exercise mode, stairs. Otherwise elevator.

Coffee, Tea, Soda? Soda!

Favorite Movie? Ack, another multi-answer: Braveheart, Beauty & the Beast (Disney) and The Replacements

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now? Home by Marc Broussard

The Good Stuff

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be? A Don Wand Glass Dildo

What is your guiltiest pleasure? Reality TV. I love America’s Next Top Model, Project Runway, Wipeout, The Glee Project, Idol, the Voice… This does NOT include things like Big Brother, Glass House or other shows where people are general douchebazookas.

Boxers, Briefs, Boxer Briefs, Commando? Briefs. I like the package to be lovingly cupped but I want to do the unwrapping myself.

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery? YES!  I like to turn it up, around and sideways in the bedroom. No boring ruts for me.

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken? Happily Taken!

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy? Playful funny and sexy.

MORE of Jennifer August’s Books!

Her Dark Master

I know that once you’ve read just ONE of her books, you will fall in love with this writer like I have!

As Always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

