Skip to content

In the Spotlight: JC Szot

by on August 15, 2012

In the Spotlight: JC Szot

http://www.bookstrand.com/jc-szot

The Unveiling by JC Szot

Just Released August 15th!

http://www.bookstrand.com/the-unveiling

Disgraced in front of his community, Neil Regal flees. When his car breaks down, he is forced into a blizzard on foot. When Dr. Danielle “Dale” Olson finds Neil the next day, she takes him in.

While recuperating from his injuries, Neil’s secretive past haunts him. Living the life of a recluse since her dark days in the film industry also has Dale on her guard. With Neil in her house, there is much to lose—her career, as well as her reputation as a doctor.

Only having experience with cold, hard sex for the purpose of making a good film, Dale is at odds with how to convey her feelings. With a handsome man in close proximity, Dr. Danielle Olson now has to figure out how to help herself after helping so many others, and Neil Regal is just the therapy she needs.

The Biz

How many books do you currently have published? I have six books out.

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about?  I love bad boys.  Though I’ve had white collar, professional characters, I love those muscle T blue collar tradesmen types. You know the kind…jeans that hang off the hips, a tattoo or two; work boots and tight flesh glittered with sweat- LOL.  I like my ladies to have unique hobbies or careers.  I love to write about the indecision of my characters- should I do this?  

What genre do you prefer to write? Romance, Erotica-always.  I love to create the sexual tension that drives the stories in the Romance/Erotica genera.  

What is the hardest part of writing for you?   I wish I had taken typing in high school. My
mother told me I would regret it, and she was right.  She must’ve seen my future, because after seven years, I still don’t know where the keys are without looking.

Advice for aspiring and new writers?  Don’t ever give up! My dear friend, as well as an amazing writer G.A. Hauser told me that again and again. If I hadn’t listened I wouldn’t have six books published. Don’t do what I did.  I came up with every excuse as to why I couldn’t write a book- no formal education, couldn’t type, struggled with technology. Don’t fall into that trap!  All you need is an imagination, and determination.  For all the other stuff I listed above there are people out there who can help you, proof readers, geek guys, or girls.  I wasted a lot of time being insecure. If you feel you’ve got a good idea then I strongly suggest you sit down and get busy. Don’t wait until your forty like I did.   Who did you dedicate your first book to?

Do you use photos for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination? I bring an image into my mind first then I’ll start looking through magazines to create what I call a story board.  I have rules though, no celebrities, popular models or rock stars.  

Who did you dedicate your first book to?  My husband.  Without his gifts of time and space I wouldn’t have had the releases I’ve had this past year.  He loves to cook and wash clothes, thank God.  It’s amazing what a writer can accomplish without the burden of housework.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books?   My ideas have stemmed from all sorts of things.  A newspaper article, a painting, a piece of clothing, an antique wall clock.  Once I saw this really hot guy wearing a black, body armor shirt and my mind started spinning. That’s how I created my character, Jake Delran from my Para/ Normal, Open Spaces.

The Random

Are you Male, or Female? Female

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs? I must be spending too much time in my office. I can’t say I’ve watched any MTV since like Duran Duran made their first video-Lol…I’m dating myself.  I have a lot of yogurt in my fridge and too much soda, my husband’s a Mountain Dew man.

What’s your favorite color?  Green, all shades.

What’s your astrological sign? I’m an Aries.

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? Oh God, I have a high sensitivity to motion.  I’ve get dizzy on elevators, the stairs- always.

Coffee, Tea, Soda?  Coffee! I love my K-cups.

Favorite Movie?   It’s tough to list just one. I’d have to say The Godfather.

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now?  R.E.M. Shiny Happy People

Favorite Rainy Day activity? Writing

The Good Stuff

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be?  My Nook Book, much to my husband’s disappointment I’m sure.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?  Turkey Hill, ice cream. The Yankees, Bronx Bombers Sundae. It’s the best!

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando? OR Boxers, Briefs, Boxer Briefs, Commando?  Gotta love those boxer briefs. I don’t put my female characters in thongs, and honestly, I can’t tell you why.

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery? I can only recall ever writing one, wham bam scene. I like to draw it out and really pull the reader in, and let all those senses ripen so to speak.

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken?  I’m happily married to a great guy. 

Favorite Book?  That’s tough to narrow down. I’m afraid it’s a tie between Deeper, and Collide, both by Megan Hart.

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy?  I’ll take all of those, thank you-LOL

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO?  As I said, I love those trades’ men types.  I like the artsy, eccentric kind too.

Be sure to check out excerpts from JC Szot’s The Unveiling, as well as other books by her on Siren! http://www.bookstrand.com/jc-szot

Learn more about JC Szot at her Authors Website http://www.jc-hotreads.com/

Remember to Always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance! Lori

From → Blog Roll

One Comment
  1. Love this spotlight! Well done 🙂

Comments are closed.

