Skip to content

In the Spotlight: New Feature for the Blog

by on July 31, 2012

I’m starting a new feature called In the Spotlight, where I will post an interview with a fellow author. Because it’s new I’m hard at work preparing interviews with several of Siren Publishings best and brightest stars. For today I’m going to put myself on the hot seat and answer the Authors Questions as honestly at possible. This way you know as much about me, as you will hopefully learn about your new favorite authors.

 

In the Spotlight: Lori King

 

http://www.bookstrand.com/lori-king

 

 

The Biz

How many books do you currently have published? Just 1, but the second is scheduled for Oct 2012

Do you have anything in progress right now? I’m working on a lot of things. The Gray Pack Book 3, as well as 4 & 5, and I have a new series called Apache Crossing that I’m working on. Total I think I have about 13 books laid out that I need to get written…now if only I had more hours in the day…

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about? I like Dominant men with a teddy bear middle, a hero so deeply in love with the heroine that he loses control. I like real women with real baggage, because let’s be honest, we all have baggage.

What genre do you prefer to write? I love writing Ménage books, the idea of more than one man trying to please a woman just leaves me with warm fuzzy feelings. And right now I have a thing for paranormal, but I like cowboys, men in uniform, BDSM stories, as well as D/s stories, so I guess I’m eclectic. If it’s in my head and sounds sexy I will probably write about it.

What is the hardest part of writing for you? The promotional aspect. It’s hard to go out there and sell your own work. When you publish you basically lay a piece of your soul out on the table for everyone in the world to see and judge, then you have to go around bragging about it and encouraging people to do so. It can be tough.

Advice for aspiring and new writers? Well I am a new writer, or at least a newly published writer, but I would tell any writer: Don’t doubt your abilities. There will ALWAYS be haters that try to discourage and distract you from your dreams out of jealousy or spite. It takes a strong person to reach for their dreams with both hands.

Do you use photo’s for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination? I like visual stimulation so I use a lot of photo’s, and I find a lot of them on Pinterest. I’m a Pining whore.

Who did you dedicate your first book to? All of the people who helped encourage me:

For my Mom who has read countless pieces that I have written over the years, and continued to encourage me to reach for my dreams.

For my Dad who has always been my rock of stability, and the hand that picks me up when I fall.

For my Sister who is my rough draft editor, best friend, and fellow romantic.

For my Brother who keeps me laughing, and reminds me that success isn’t always tangible.

For my Husband who is my knight in shining armor. You will always be my favorite hero.

And for my children who remind me that life is short, and you must grab it with both hands.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books? I know it sounds crazy, but my characters are part of me. They talk to me, and I get to know them as I tell their stories. I find myself falling for the hero every time I write a book.

Random Things We Want to Know

What would we find in your fridge if you were to do an episode of MTV Cribs?  A lot of Diet Dr. Pepper

What’s your favorite color? Purple

What’s your astrological sign?  Aquarius

Elevator, Escalator, Stairs? I would like to say the stairs, but my curves would prove that to be a lie. And I’m claustrophobic, so it’s going to be the Escalator.

Coffee, Tea, Soda? Soda, Diet D.P.

Favorite Movie? Darn it there are so many…Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, 10 Things I Hate About You, Cruel Intentions, Chicago, Mary Poppins

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now? Miranda Lambert probably-any woman who can sing about Gunpowder and Lead, and Kerosene is my idol.

Favorite Rainy Day activity?  Baking cookies with my kids, or reading if they aren’t home.

The Good Stuff

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be?  I should probably say my husband here just to be safe huh?

What is your guiltiest pleasure? Hazel Hill Sea Salt Caramels

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando? I have some of them all, I love pretty undies.

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery? Yes please.

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken? Happily Taken for 8 years now.

Favorite Book? Hard to pick just one so I will pick my fav authors: Bertrice Small, Sophie Oak, Laurann Dohner, Heather Rainier. I haven’t read any book from these 4 authors that I didn’t read multiple times.

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy? Ideally all of the above, but if I have to choose Playful, Funny, and Sexy.

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO? Construction Worker. I love a man that works with his whole body, not just his hands, and I need more than money to make me burn.

 

I hope you’ve learned more about me, and that you will check out my new book Fire of the Wolf available now http://www.bookstrand.com/fire-of-the-wolf .

Remember to Always Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance! Lori

From → Blog Roll

Comments are closed.

