Skip to content

In the Spotlight: Skye Michaels

September 11, 2012

In the Spotlight: Skye Michaels

http://www.bookstrand.com/skye-michaels

Click here to purchase!

Newest Release:

Madison’s Choice (Le Club 5)

http://www.bookstrand.com/madisons-choice

Madison Snow returns to Ocala with her young son to take a job as assistant to the manager of the very private, luxurious BDSM club known as Le Club Laurel Oak–Ocala. Ross Hamilton, successful horse trainer, is in for a big surprise.

Ross and Madison had broken up almost nine years ago when Ross was still in college and Madison was an exercise rider at Eden Creek Farm, the Hamilton Thoroughbred breeding farm. The whole family gets involved when Robbie Hamilton discovers that Madison’s son, Nickie, looks exactly like a Hamilton.

Sparks fly when Ross finds out he has an eight-year-old son he knew nothing about! Can they work through the feelings of betrayal they both felt and forge a strong family?

The Biz

How many books do you have published?  I currently have five out on www.bookstrand.com as well as Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Calleigh’s Collar (the girl architect and the attorney); Kelly’s Challenge (the billionaire businessman/polo player and the assistant club manager); Anne’s Courage (the club manager and the bad boy billionaire investment banker); Paula’s Commitment (the magazine editor and the heart surgeon), and Madison’s Choice (the assistant and the thoroughbred trainer).  The sixth book, Belinda’s Crown (the jockey and the throughbred owner), has been approved for publication in November, 2012.  The Le Club Series is set at a fictional private BDSM club located in the historic district of Ocala, Florida, which rivals Kentucky for the breeding of thoroughbred horses.  It’s a beautiful area, and I have a vacation home there.

Do you have any in progress right now?  I have started the first book of a new series.  I wrote a segue into the new series in Book 6 of The Le Club Series, and so far, I have actually written the prologue for Book 1.  I am still working on the plot in my head. 

What is your favorite type of Hero/Heroine to write about?  I have to admit I love the dominant males.  I’m sure there are tons of wonderful average guys out there, and they are good husbands and fathers, but I don’t want to read or write about their sex lives!   I don’t think I’d actually want to live with one of the dominant males, but they are so yummy.  I also prefer dark haired men, but have tried to have a variety different looking heroes to appeal to different tastes.  I like my heroines to have soft hearts with some vulnerability, but to be strong when they need to be.  My heroines are only marginally “submissive” – they all have a little grit.

What genre do you prefer to write?  I have been writing BDSM stories.  I think that is because not only do I like them, but they were the first really sexy books I downloaded on the Kindle my daughter bought me for my birthday last summer.   After reading a few, I thought, I can do this!!  I have been reading romance forever, and love it.  I have one book that is not BDSM that I started years ago.  It is about 2/3 done but needs serious updating.  I might get back to that at some point.

What is the hardest part of writing for you?  Getting started on a new book.  Once I get going they seem to roll along.  Also the editing process.  The editors always want More More More!  When you think you have already said it all.  I have to admit, the books have always been better for their input.  Marketing is also difficult.

Advice for aspiring and new writers?  Just get started.  If it’s your dream go for it.  The first book I had started got put aside when both my parents got sick and died. I didn’t have the time for writing when they were sick, and then didn’t have the heart for it after they were gone.  So I started a whole new deal with the Le Club Series after I lost my full time job as a paralegal.  I wanted to see if I could go from Chapter One to The End.  I was thrilled to finish the first draft of Calleigh’s Collar in 17 days!  Admittedly it is the shortest book and I was able to write all day.  It introduces a lot of the characters in the other five books, and I think it was good story.  I do think the books just kept getting better as well as longer as I went along.  The main thing is you have to have a good story.  It can’t just be Hi I’m John.  Hi I’m Mary.  Let’s do it, happy ending.  I’ve read some erotic books that were just sex from beginning to end, and they were boring.  You need to emotionally engage your readers.  Any don’t listen to the nay sayers!  People who discourage you are just jealous.  

Do you use photos for visual inspiration when creating your characters, or just your imagination?  I will occasionally page through a magazine and pick out some hunky models, and I have some actors I really like.   Jason Steele, the hero in Book 1 was straight from my imagination.  Adrian Paul, The Highlander (Books 2 and 3) is the inspiration for both the Devereau brothers – tall, broody, dark and handsome.   Channing Tatum looks just like Dr. Trent Redding who appears in all the books.  He definitely has a twinkle in his eye, and I have to say either of those two could eat crackers in my bed any time!   It helps to have a picture of them in your mind.

How do you come up with inspiration for your books?  I really can’t answer that one.  The characters and the story for the first book, Calleigh’s Collar, just seemed to be there.  They could be friends of mine – even the pestacious Paula Greenley who caused so much trouble in Book 1.  I do enjoy doing a series so we get to revisit the characters who have gone before and see how they are doing.  It’s sort of Nora Robertseque!   I don’t think I can bear to say goodbye to any of them.  One of the fun parts of writing is getting to put bits and pieces of yourself into the stories.  I had breast cancer like Anne in Book 3, and Paula in Book 4 wore my wedding dress.   When Anne got engaged, she got my daughter’s engagement ring, and a friend of mine makes the horsehair jewelry in Book 5.  I have been able to memorialize some of my horses along the way as well. 

Who did you dedicate your first book to?  To friends and family and variations on that theme as I went along.  I have had so much support from my friends and big extended family all along.  My parents, although they are gone, were nothing but supportive.  They always said I could do anything.  I know they are up in Heaven bragging about my naughty books!

 The Random

What’s your favorite color?  Yellow, and then green.

What’s your astrological signCancer (double) – homemaker, very sensitive, sometimes moody, easily hurt.

Elevator, escalator or stairs?  Are you kidding – why walk when you can ride!   And I prefer to let my horses do the walking!  Really, either elevator or escalator – but then my Dad was an elevator man!

Coffee, Tea or Soda?  Diet Cola!

What song is on your iPod/Mp3/Stereo right now?  Don’t have an iPod or Mp3 – my daughter has dragged me into the 21s century with the Kindle and iPhone!  Let’s not get carried away with technology.  I love the 80’s ballads, some of the Country, and light jazz (Keith Jarrett mostly or Kenny G).  I’m not too crazy about the new age stuff and hate rap. 

Favorite Rainy Day activityI love to spend the day on the couch with a quilt, a cup of coffee and a good book – with my dog and cat curled up with me.

Favorite Book?   I love Sandra Brown, Janet Evanovich, and of course, Nora Roberts.  In the erotic field, I like Cooper McKenzie and Jan Bowles, as well as several others.  I do love the BDSM stories.

The Good Stuff

If you had to pick one item to bring to the bedroom with you what would it be?  A good book or my Kindle.  A man would be nice, but I don’t have one at the moment.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?  Russell Stover White Chocolate Bunnies – yum!

Thong, Bikini, Full Coverage, Commando?   I seem to go bikini or commando!  Never wear undies with jeans!  Thongs just seem annoying, although my heroines wear them!

Lovemaking, Wham Bam, Kinky Fuckery?   All of the above if I got so lucky!!!   I have a little of all three in my books!

Single and Loving it, Happily Taken?  I am single for many years now.   I was married for 8 years to an investment banker who was really high maintenance.  While I wouldn’t have wanted to miss the experience (and I loved my step-son a lot), I’m not anxious to repeat it.  Too much angst.  I’ll save that for my heroines! 

Tall Dark and Handsome or Playful Funny and Sexy?   I have to say tall, dark and handsome – with a playful and funny streak!

Biker, Musician, Artist, Construction Worker or CEO?  I love them all, but CEO is my favorite.  Wheeling the big deal appeals to me. 

I love a woman who knows exactly what kind of man turns her on the most! It was lovely getting to know Skye a little better, and now I want to make sure you can find out more! Visit her Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/#!/skyemichaelsbooks

Le Club 1: Caleigh’s Collar

Le Club 3: Anne’s Courage

As always don’t forget to Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance!~Lori

From → Blog Roll

Leave a Comment

Tell me what you think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,749 other followers

